Giving Ghost of Tsushima Another Chance

in Hive Gaming18 days ago

When I bought my PlayStation 5 back in December of 2022 there were two games that I was very excited about playing. Those were God of War: Ragnarok and Ghost of Tsushima. Since I had recently played the first God of War I wanted to get the continuity of playing God of War: Ragnarok first. Ghost of Tsushima was a new IP that I'd heard good things about but had no connection to outside of this.

Ghost of Tsushima_20240413131432.png

Back then Ghost of Tsushima was a disappointment to me. After having played God of War: Ragnarok which had an enormous story with strong and memorable characters Ghost of Tsushima felt like a big step down. The main character Jin Sakai felt like a really shallow character and the story didn't have any kind of depth to it. I played the game for around 8 hours and ended up dropping it after completing the first out of three acts.

The world however is one of the most beautiful I've seen in a game. Accompanied by a fantastic and extensive photo mode the game really is a unique visual experience. When playing I felt like no matter where I was in the game I could stop and appreciate unique vistas. That's something special in its own but back then it wasn't enough to keep the game going for me after experiencing something grand like God of War: Ragnarok.

Ultimately that's what brought me back to the game this time around. I've been enjoying visual experiences more and more lately and this game just hits that spot. At 4-5 hours in I still feel like te main character is shallow and the story lacks depth but I was prepared for it this time around. Instead of letting these things drag the game down I'm focusing on the things that I do like about it. The stunning visuals.

Ghost of Tsushima_20230212104307.jpg

I'm not sure if I'll complete the game this time around either. If I don't them that's completely fine. I'll take the enjoyment I can get from it and then move on to something else. The game isn't able to grab my attention for more than 1-2 hours at a time so it's going to be a slow grind in any case. Especially since I spend so much time in photo mode playing around with the settings. I could probably have progressed the story way more if it wasn't for that.


All images in this post are screenshots taken by me.

Follow me on: 3Speak | PeakD | Hive.Blog | Twitch | YouTube

Sort:  

Hi, I really liked the game as you have been reviewing it and I just wanted to know if you know of any free game that is similar to GHOST, thanks!

No idea. I doubt you'll find anything free that has quality like this.

Thanks, I thought about the same when I saw your review.

 18 days ago  

Uff is understandable that you have not hooked because you finished a great game that left you very high expectations hahaha but good that you have retaken it and although you may not finish it you can go doing that, play it little by little every time you feel like it and share it here or in the photo community, I think that game has a photo mode system.
As a colorful fact my father watched all the gameplay on youtube thinking it was a movie.

Translated with DeepL.com (free version)

I guess if you put together only the cutscenes and dialogue it can play something like a movie.

Ghost of Tsushima was a new IP that I'd heard good things about but had no connection to outside of this.

It's more or less the same for me at the moment. I've heard good things about this game since it came out, but I haven't seen any gameplay or trailers because I don't have PS5. It's supposed to be out on PC in a few days and I admit it's a game that intrigues me quite a bit, so maybe I'll give it a try to experience it for myself.

Likewise it's a bit sad what happened to you the first time. The same thing happened to me recently with the second Horizon Zero Dawn that came out on PC, it failed to hook me haha.

I couldn't even stand to finish the first HZD. I got through the first area and when I got to the second big area I was just done. Didn't like the story or the characters in it. Gameplay felt rather mediocre as well. Looked great though.

 18 days ago  

that's sad to hear... but I guess it's culture accurate. Japanese keep it to themselves.

It's more to do with the main character being all about the honorable samurai and everytime something dishonorable happens he gets sad. Seems so childlike.

 17 days ago  

hehehehehe.

 18 days ago  

Heard so many good things about it. And that sometimes cranks our expectations a bit too much and we feel a bit disappointed. Could be the case here too idk.

Anyways but the game is absolutely gorgeous. I can understand spending hours playing with the photo mode...lol

I'm enjoying it a lot more this time around since I knew what to expect.

I enjoyed this game. I think I put about 75 hours into the main game and DLC. I finished the DLC but never actually completed the game. It was fun but other games came out that caught my attention. I don’t think I will ever finish the game though. I do think Rise of the Ronin is a better game. It may not look as good but the combat is so much better.

I'm gonna have to consider the DLC if I end up finishing this at some point. Glad to hear you enjoyed it this much though.

Well, how can you not have high expectations if you just finished GOW. I understand what you're saying, it usually happens, even though the game looks very good. Simply because of what you mentioned, it remained superficial!