Sort:  
 11 months ago  

Fair enough; I'd say that the one I would first recommend out of all these is Ace Attorney, probably because it's the first one I ever played and the ball gets rolling in some way after the first case...again, I thought on this topic after realizing how Ace Attorney is probably one of the first of these type of games that caught on popularity without people realizing it was "a visual novel" while going outside of that perceived audience for those.

Though I'll have to say that it does feel odd to play them on a big screen; it is great that these are getting ported to modern consoles and everything, but it does feel comfy to play these on a DS or the phone (either with the native Android versions or through emulation) due to the lack of gameplay complexity needed.

Haven't really played any of these games in a while, but watching my brother play Apollo Justice and having to chime in for ideas to help was fun, and I would have kept reading Higurashi if my attention span hadn't dipped out + hadn't got spoiled about almost all twists of the original due to watching Gou..and then unceremoniously dropping the Sotsu sequel (which seems to have been the right move).

Thanks for reading and for your comment!