an abundance of content in MIR4, where the quests never end

in Hive Gaming3 years ago (edited)

I rage-uninstalled MIR4 about a month ago after getting burnt out trying to play too many play2earn games at once.

A few weeks later, I reinstalled. The allure of playing a large free MMO with a bunch of my play2earn friends was too good to pass up. Besides, before uninstalling I'd started a new character -- a sorcerer -- and that playstyle seemed more fun than the Lancer class I had tried at first.

080 mir4.png

The Challenge of Exploring Early Access Games

I've gotten used to playing early access games in my last two years of content creation. Starting out with TemTem, a non-crypto game, and then later with Lost Relics and other crypto games, I've specialized in exploring games early in their lifecycle.

On one hand, it makes sense. It's easier to make friends and build a stream around smaller games that aren't oversaturated with content yet, at least that is my experience.

As a gamer though it can eventually be a bummer to have to play games that tend to have less content and become a repetitive grind. Trying to stream lots of hours on a platform like Twitch can be unpleasant when you end up repeatedly grinding a small amount of post-game content in any early access game.

MIR4 is Different -- Lots of Content

That's why MIR4's abundance of quests and in-game systems is so refreshing. It is the opposite of every other game I've had the chance to play lately.

I find myself looking at the lists of quests and upgradable skills/equipment as something exciting. There are so many options. Every day I unlock some new power-ups and get a little closer to catching up to my guildmates.

081 mir4 quests.png

MIR4 offers a mix of auto-combat and manual combat. For lower level quests and basic grinding, I need to do very little playing of the game myself. I can bring my character to the correct zone and set up some parameters for the auto-grind.

On the other hand, higher level content and group battles like raids require fully manual play and a lot of strategy to avoid getting owned. The back and forth between more casual and more sweaty content is very nice for someone like me, since I enjoy some heavy gaming but need to do other things besides playing games all day.

I can auto when I'm busy and manually play when I'm gaming. Of course, it's ok to turn the game off too and I usually turn it off at night before sleep. Some people have their account running 24/7, which is a fine option, it just depends on your dedication.

Hanging Out With The Squad

The whole point of playing a game like MIR4 for me is to hang out with the squad. I'm a member of Yield Squad, which is one of the top guilds on server NA33. Yield Squad is on the path to becoming a real DAO with its own token and guilds in multiple games.

It's both fun and productive to hang out and play games with my fellow Yield Squad members. For one thing, we can work together to maximize our in-game yields which result in real play2earn payouts to the guild members over time. For another thing, as a person like myself who isn't the best at gaming, I can get resources and support from other members of the guild.

DAOs and guilds (they aren't that different) are perfect for this process of matching different skillsets together to achieve common goals. Some members of a DAO will be the best gamers, others will have other skillsets.

MIR4 has been very useful, if nothing else, as a way to start working together as a guild and practice being a DAO.

Are you playing MIR4? If so how are you enjoying it?