[ENG/ESP] The OP disappointment | La Decepción OP

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Deep disappointment in English

It's happened to me a few times now. I get through the game grinding like a tryharder psycho. I reach the final boss with high expectations, thinking it's gonna be challenging and tough. And then the boss is dead before I can even finish that thought. It sucks.

una_jeva_ahi_disappointment.jpg

I think the worst part of it all, is overestimating a boss's difficulty. (base image source)

Or not, it's a little more intricate than that. It's all about expectations. For a first run, one usually expects minor enemies to be an annoyance, you want to get them out of the way fast. You feel powerful and lightning fast when going through enemies like you're knocking leaves down. They don't matter, they're secondary and your expectations over their difficulty are most likely very low.

Bosses (specially final bosses) are different. They mark where a phase ends and let the next moment through once defeated, be it a new phase or a fulfilling ending. You expect a challenge to make you feel like you really won, not like the game lost. And that can be ruined by over-grinding.

I gotta say, I like to be OP. It's just too cool to be way ahead of where you should be. But sometimes I kind of over-grind and end up turning an epic ending into a disappointing one.

una_jeva_ahi_the_world_ends_with_you.png

I can't exaggerate if I say I spent over a week grinding daily, I didn't seem to be able to grind sanely. (base image source)

I had quite the crash with The World Ends with You for this exact reason. I spent hours over hours grinding like a madwoman to get past the final boss. And I killed it in seconds, it didn't even take me half a minute. That's great when you want an OP run, but not so much for a balanced one.

Most games show a relatively predictable level adjustment rate, with peaks by the end of a phase. If you want to keep difficulty as intended by design, you should get better at the same pace it gets harder. Of course, over-grinding is usually notably time-consuming and you're unlikely to reach there if you're not a tryhard maniac. As a rule of thumb though, if you can one-hit major enemies, stop.

Either way, grinding maniacs are not limited to game experiences damaged by overpowering. There's still hope: grinding games. Designed so that you're never OP, there always is something stronger, or nothing to beat at all.

I believe that, weirdly enough, farming games are usually the best for grinding. Most of the work is repetitive and takes several hours to completely master, putting the finish line quite far ahead.

una_jeva_ahi_harvest_moon_fomt.png

I remember I even refined the system so that I would only get out of the cave with the best things, wasting the least stamina, that psychotic.

Going through lists of Gameboy Advance games, I once stumbled upon Harvest Moon: Friends of Mineral Town. The hours I spent grinding the hot spring caves were just ungodly. Some days ago I picked up the game and I still could spend hours grinding, it's relaxing and rewarding, and that's what grinding is pretty much all about.

Now, this doesn't mean you shouldn't go through grinding-sensitive games fully OP at all, I agree that's the fastest OP experience you'll get if you don't want to spend weeks or even months grinding. My advice is to keep it for extra runs, what I've gotten out of blowing up endings like I'm God is that first runs are better kept as intended, later on you can come back and kick them in the face, and that feels good.

All images used on this post are my own unless stated otherwise.

una_jeva_ahi_divider.png

Decepción profunda en español

Ya me ha pasado varias veces. Me paso todo el juego grindeando como una tryharder, llego al jefe final con las expectativas altas creyéndome que va a ser difícil y fuerte, y entonces el jefe está muerto antes de que pueda terminar de pensarlo. Es una mierda.

una_jeva_ahi_disappointment.jpg

Creo que la peor parte es sobreestimar la fuerza de un jefe. (fuente de la imagen base)

O no, es un poco más complicado. Se trata de lo que esperas del juego. En una primera partida, uno usualmente espera que enemigos menores sean una ladilla y poco más, te los quieres quitar del camino rápido. Uno se siente fuerte tumbando enemigos como si fueran moscas, porque no importan, son secundarios y no esperas que sean difíciles.

Los jefes, especialmente jefes finales, ya son otro cuento. Marcan el final de una fase y dan paso al siguiente momento, sea otra fase o un final satisfactorio. Uno espera un reto que te haga sentir que ganaste, no que el juego perdió, y eso te lo puedes echar al pico pasándote con el grindeo.

No seré la única, pero me mama estar OP. Es demasiado arrecho estar muy por delante de donde deberías, pero a veces se me va la mano y termino haciendo decepcionante un final épico.

una_jeva_ahi_the_world_ends_with_you.png

No exagero diciendo que pasé como una semana grindeando diario, parecía que se me había rodado una teja. (fuente de la imagen base)

Me di un coñazo con The World Ends with You por esa misma razón. Pasé horas y horas grindeando como una loca para pasarme el jefe final, y me lo raspé en segundos, no me tardé ni medio minuto. Eso está muy de pinga para una partida OP, pero no tanto para una balanceada.

La mayoría de juegos tienen un ritmo de ajuste de nivel relativamente predecible, con picos al final de una fase. Para mantener la dificultad como por diseño, mejorar al mismo tiempo que el juego se hace más difícil es lo más seguro. Está claro que para pasarse grindeando hay que quedarse pegado un buen rato, así que probablemente no te pase si no eres un obseso. A ojo, si matas a enemigos fuertes de un sólo coñazo, para.

De todos modos, los obsesos no están limitados a experiencias que se joden por ponerse OP. Aún están los juegos de grindeo, diseñados específicamente para que nunca estés OP, siempre hay algo por encima de ti, o nada para superar en primer lugar.

Sostengo que por raro que parezca, los juegos de granja suelen ser los mejores en esto. Mayor parte del trabajo es repetitivo y toma un buen rato dejarlo perfecto, ponen la línea de meta lejos.

una_jeva_ahi_harvest_moon_fomt.png

Recuerdo que hasta ajusté el sistema para salir de la cueva con lo mejor, gastando la menor cantidad de estamina posible, así de psicótico todo.

Una vez, viendo listas de juegos para la Gameboy Advance, me encontré con Harvest Moon: Friends of Mineral Town. La cantidad de horas que pasé grindeando en las cuevas de las aguas termales no fue ni medio normal. Hace poco volví a pillarlo y todavía pasaría horas en eso, es relajante y repetitivo, y de eso trata el grindeo.

Esto no significa que no deberías pasarte un juego no apto para grindeo completamente OP, es verdad que es la forma más rápida de conseguirse una experiencia OP sin tener que grindear por semanas. Mi mejor consejo es dejarlo para otras partidas, si algo saqué de joder finales como si fuera Dios es que las primeras partidas son mejores como fueron diseñadas para ser. Ya luego puedo volver y patearle la cara al jefe, y ahí es que se siente bien.

Todas las imágenes utilizadas en este post me pertenecen, a menos que establezca lo contrario.
Sort:  

I've experienced this in a ton of games. Luckily it doesn't necessarily bring any disappointment alongside with it. If I'm mostly interested in the story of the game I don't really care if the game and bosses is a breeze. If I want a challenge then I might get disappointed. I just finished the first playthrough of Nier: Automata and that game gave me mixed feelings. It started out rough then got easy as I grinded it out a bit. Because the easyness was a reward because of the grind I didn't mind.

I agree, seeing easiness as a reward helps out a ton. I remember playing Pokemon, grinding a lot and then being able to beat bosses up was just so satisfying HAHAHAHAHAHA.

 2 years ago  

Afortunadamente no soy tan obsesivo así xd, tan solo pensar en durar más de 1 hora grindeando me genera ansiedad, y sobretodo que me gusta que la dificultad del juego sea desafiante, pero en fin, eso va a terminar matándote xd.

Btw me encanta la personalidad que tienes ♥

A mí me encanta grindear porque es demasiado relajante y da gusto ver los números subir, es una tontería pero es gratificante JAJAJAJAJAJAJ.

¡Gracias por el apoyo!