You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Video Games and their impact on Mental Health

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

video games are good if they’re not over consumed

All things in life require balance.

...I live in the country and there isn't much to do.

There is lots to do in the Country. Depending what Country and area, Skidoo, 4-wheeling, dirtbike driving, biking, hiking, fishing & hunting, bomb fires, beach parties, the list goes on and on.

I am the prime example of the narrative that ‘video games cause violence’ is wrong.

I don't believe in the "video games cause violence" line but we should always keep in mind that we are all different individuals with different feelings and triggers. So while you are a prime example that goes against the line "video games cause violence" someone else out there might be a prime example of why videos games are influential to violent tendacies.

Good post, keep up the good work!

!BEER
!PIZZA

Sort:  

I don't believe that they can create violent tendencies in someone who would otherwise not experience any, but I do believe that they can exasperate( I believe that is the word) violent tendencies that are already there.

And thanks!

If I was away from SWTOR for any length of time, I started to get angry, anxious, and generally an asshole to be around.

The above describes violent tendacies. Violence isn't always physical. Video games are great for escaping reality and can be lots of fun to play so I can see how they can help those who need such an escape.

I don't believe that they can create violent tendencies in someone who would otherwise not experience any,

I believe everyone experiences all human emotion in existance at various points in their life. In other words, everyone at some point will feel voilent tendecies.

It's an interesting line of thinking and at the end of the day we all have different opinions! It's one of those fun things that makes us humans :P