Super Castlevania IV Review – The great adventure of Simon

in Hive Gaming24 days ago (edited)
After the launching of the first games from the well known Castlevania Saga for the Nintendo NES and other older gaming systems, a new adventure was released for the Super Nintendo, now our quest had massive levels to explore and a vast amount of diverse creatures and horrific monsters to defeat.

Screenshot_2.png
Screenshot_1.png


I’m talking about Super Castlevania IV, and this time we have many more appealing elements to enjoy, the most outstanding ones to point out are: the huge maps, all the different kinds of items, the enemies of varied sizes, the many special weapons, the gorgeous attractive baroque graphics, the high quality sound design and a new set of agile skills for our protagonist.

When we talk about the gameplay, the first thing that calls anyone’s attention is our hero, Simon Belmont, who can use his primary weapon with complete freedom in any of the directions of the directional pad, this allows us to hit enemies that are waiting to ambush our hero in the upper parts of the levels, or even dive and hit down with the whip. But that’s not all, if we keep the attack button pressed, we can make some movements to protect ourselves from the incoming enemy attacks.

Screenshot_3.png
Screenshot_4.png


Now, the best ability in our power is the one that allows us to use the whip as some kind of transport in the style of Indiana Jones. While we swing from one part of the castle to another, we can gain the momentum to land on some surfaces; we also can throw some of our secondary weapons like the knives, axes or the holly water. The truth is that all these new elements make the game much more enjoyable than any other entry that came before.

Screenshot_12.png
Screenshot_13.png


Another thing to point out is that this game has a horror and mystery atmosphere that is quite polished, thanks to the detailed backgrounds, creepy sound effects and spectacular melodies. This is without mentioning other interesting aspects of the game, like the multiple scroll planes, rotations, zooms, and the care put into the detailed designs of the enemies and the varied repertory of secondary weapons we can find.

Screenshot_6.png
Screenshot_7.png
Screenshot_11.png
Screenshot_9.png


To wrap things up, first I will confess that I'm not a really big fan of the gameplay style of the older Castlevania games, but this installment really surprised me, specially the game’s visual aesthetic and soundtrack. Now I can understand why this one is considered to be among the best games ever made by Konami, anyone who considers himself or herself a fan of 2D action adventure games should not miss the opportunity to enjoy this fun experience, I seriously recommend it.

Anyway, that’s all people, now I want to know: If you have played this game, what did you think about it? 😎

THANK YOU FOR READING!


All images in this post are screenshots taken from my playthrough.

Sort:  
 23 days ago  

I've only played two Castlevania games, Aria of Sorrow and Symphony of the Night, but I didn't finish the last one, it was a literal labirynth haha, but I want to try it again, this one is on my list as well, but usually retro games are a pain in the ass for me haha.

I know, many retro games can be tough to play today, for example this one was challenging for me but not impossible to complete haha.

Aria of Sorrow is a really enjoyable game, In my opinion it has a well balanced difficulty in every sense. On the other hand Symphony of the Night is a more intricate game where you can easily get stuck, but the enemies are a joke in terms of difficulty lol, despite that is a great game too.

If you are planning to give another try to Symphony of the Night, I recommend you the version of the game that was released for PSP, PS4 and Android if not the PS1 Japanese version with a fan translation is also a great option.

Thanks for stopping by!

 23 days ago  

I played the PSP version that was included with Dracula X Chronicles, it was really good but as I don't have a PS4 I could try any of the others, thanks for the recomendation!

Castlevania is always special. I didn't know about this installment of Castlevania. I really like the ones they released for the GBA. I'm going to try this one, I'm sure it will, it looks very good. Thanks for sharing.

Yeah, Castlevania is legendary saga, I also played the GBA games and they are really good. I think this one is great, but it is not an easy game due to its arcade style.

Thanks for stopping by!

Congratulations @satoru-raiden! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 30 posts.
Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List