Elden Ring - Boss Fight at Divine Tower in Caelid - Godskin Apostle (10th Attempt with Screenshots & Pictures)

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Elden Ring - Boss Fight at Divine Tower in Caelid - Godskin Apostle

(10th Attempt with Screenshots & Pictures)

elden-ring-button-03-1623460560664.jpeg


Image Source
Godskin Apostle pictured above.

Here's some quick info on the game:

(Actual post is BELOW this intro info!)

[GAMEPLAY] In Elden Ring, players control a customizable player character on a journey to repair the Elden Ring and become the new Elden Lord. The game is presented through a third-person perspective, with players freely roaming its interactive open world. Gameplay elements include combat using several types of weapons and magic spells, horseback riding, and crafting.

Source

[STORY] Elden Ring takes place in the Lands Between, a fictional landmass ruled over by several demigods. It was previously ruled over by the immortal Queen Marika, who acted as keeper of the Elden Ring, a powerful force that manifested as the physical concept of order. When Marika eventually shattered the Elden Ring and disappeared, her demigod children began warring over pieces of the Ring in an event called the Shattering. Each demigod possesses a shard of the Ring called a Great Rune, which corrupts them with power. In the game, the player character is a Tarnished, one of a group of exiles from the Lands Between who are summoned back after the Shattering. As one of the Tarnished, the player must traverse the realm to repair the Elden Ring and become the Elden Lord.

Source

Today's post is about my boss fight at Divine Tower in Caelid with the Godskin Apostle!

(If you don't have time to read through the screenshots below, I've attached a video link of the full fight at the BOTTOM of the page!)


In previous posts, I forgot to add screenshots of my map position in the Lands Between. While this zoomed-in shot shows the northern coast of Caelid, I'll need to add a zoomed-out shot next time too. There's a round little nub on the northern coast of Caelid that has a tower on it -- that's where today's boss fight takes place.


It's very dark here but there's a Godskin Follower in that room below -- should probably turn on my waist lantern next time.


He's pretty strong and the room's small so I use that to my advantage and fill it up with Dragon Rot Breath.


Another blast has him hiding around the corner from a direct hit from this devastating incantation but the Rot Breath continues to fill up the room all the same and eat away at the Godskin Follower slowly.


With my magic bar spent, the Rot Breath clears and he's left staggered with only a smidge of health left.


Despite slowly dying, he rushes at me trying to put his last moments of life to good use but I just step back up the stairs.


From the top of the stairs I watch the Rot finally end him so I can proceed to the boss and try to save my fallen runes.


GIF Source


Getting my incantations, magic potion, and ghost summons ready -- I step through the golden veil into a stage of chaos.


We kick things off by summoning up some resilient back up -- two undead spearmen. As you can see to the right, my fallen runes are resting in reach not too far away.


Hiding behind the undead spearmen to the right, he shields me from a black flames fireball while I move toward my runes.


Runes collected!


Finally ready to fight, I see that one of my undead spearmen has been staggered to his knees while the other is eating a giant black fireball to the face.


While Godskin Apostle is distracted I hit him with Dragon Rot Breath which proves to be very effective.


I somehow dodge this fireball by just running to the side.


Magic potion because spells are expensive.


Here's a side profile of the dragon head I summon when I cast Rot Breath.


Through the red smoke of my Rot Breath, the Godskin Apostle still flings a Black Flames fireball which I jump out of the way of.


Can never have too many potions ... unless your magic bar's already full.


I love this giant pink-red symbol that shows up when I cast this dreadfully annihilating spell.


With half of his health gone, Godskin Apostle starts stretching around the stage like Mister Fantastic from the Fantastic Four.


He interrupts my next Dragon spell with a black fireball that takes off almost half my life.


I think it's funny that you can sometimes dodge certain enemy attacks just by crouching.


My eternal spearmen keep up the pressure while I refuel.


I try to hit him with another dragon rot-breath spell but he summons a crazy-looking whirlwind of black flames.


Not sure at all how my spearmen survived such an insane attack -- or how I came away unaffected.


I could've Bloodhound Stepped out of these but jumping out of the way at the last minute looks a lot cooler.


He got a little too close to hitting me here.


That scythe of his is a tremendous weapon, just very impressive reach.


This might've been an attack I could've dodged simply by crouching if I timed it right.


This is where I thought I'd ended the battle ...


... But he flies out of the rot-smoke spinning his scythe like a giant blender!


I try to get out but it's just too fast and he's stretched himself pretty far.


Thankfully the rot-effect kills him before the attack can continue.


I win some new clothes, his clothes, so I'm excited to try them out.


Not sure why but it just doesn't look as great on me ... maybe it's because I'm missing the head gear.


Not too bad ... but not really my style. It's too ... Assassin's Creed-looking.


There we go -- that's more regal looking!

~

Here's a vide of the full fight below:

Hope you enjoyed this post's screenshots and video!

See y'all next time on the next post of my Elden Ring adventure!

Sort:  

I've always wanted to play this game, well, at least I'm curious about it. I think at some point I'll have to encourage myself to play it hehe

 2 years ago  

Elden Ring has been a blast so far --- tons of fun. I'm playing it on Playstation 4 and it still looks really great. Can't imagine how much prettier it is on Playstation 5 or PC. From what I've read online, the PC version has some really fun mods as well. I definitely recommend trying it out :) Thanks for checking out my post!

I've just realized I never visited this tower and the very last one. I found the great runes to be quite underwhelming in general.

 2 years ago  

Yeah, I'm a faith-sword build so not much of the big-boss loot has been useful to me other than the tears they sometimes give. I just got to Altus tho so hopefully I defeat some bosses that give stuff more useful to my class of character ... although sometimes I'm tempted to respec when I see other people's builds lol

 2 years ago  

You 100%ed it and didn't visit this place?

Shame on you.

Congratulations @shortshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 1750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
 2 years ago  

Thank you!

You're welcome @shortshots! Have a nice day 😊👍

I remember being stuck on this guy for more than 15 minutes. This is also a good farm spot. Just hit the yellow spot and boom the guy is there.

 2 years ago  

Thank you @myegoandmyself, @betterdev, and @meritocracy for the upvotes on my post! Very much appreciated :)