Elden Ring - Multiplayer - Erdtree Avatar in Wester Liurnia Lakes

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Elden Ring - Multiplayer - Erdtree Avatar in Wester Liurnia Lakes (Screenshots & Video)

elden-ring-button-03-1623460560664.jpeg

Here's some quick info on the game:

(Actual post is BELOW this intro info!)

[GAMEPLAY] In Elden Ring, players control a customizable player character on a journey to repair the Elden Ring and become the new Elden Lord. The game is presented through a third-person perspective, with players freely roaming its interactive open world. Gameplay elements include combat using several types of weapons and magic spells, horseback riding, and crafting.

Source

[STORY] Elden Ring takes place in the Lands Between, a fictional landmass ruled over by several demigods. It was previously ruled over by the immortal Queen Marika, who acted as keeper of the Elden Ring, a powerful force that manifested as the physical concept of order. When Marika eventually shattered the Elden Ring and disappeared, her demigod children began warring over pieces of the Ring in an event called the Shattering. Each demigod possesses a shard of the Ring called a Great Rune, which corrupts them with power. In the game, the player character is a Tarnished, one of a group of exiles from the Lands Between who are summoned back after the Shattering. As one of the Tarnished, the player must traverse the realm to repair the Elden Ring and become the Elden Lord.

Source

Today's post is about another co-op mode adventure with my friend, Fang, as we venture off to defeat the Erdtree Avatar in Wester Liurnia!

(If you don't have time to read through the screenshots below, I've attached a video link of the full fight at the BOTTOM of the page!)


Here I am being summoned to Fang's world, another universe, a parallel world of the Lands Between in Elden Ring similar to my own. It's always funny to materialize in co-op mode because it feels like Star Trek -- basically like someone just beamed up to another world.


Sometimes I imagine a documentary filmmaker narrating my adventures.


WERNER HERZOG:
And here we have a pair of young Tarnished
stalking an elderly Marionette soldier up the hill --
will the poor soldier survive an attack
by two hungry Tarnished?


WERNER HERZOG:
While lying half-dead in the rain, the sounds of
a giant blade swinging in its immediate vicinity,
the aged Marionette soldier knows
the pain of its existence shall soon end.


WERNER HERZOG:
100+ level Tarnished are the lions of Liurnia --
here they are creeping up on a Guardian Soldier
now made aware of their approach.


Sorry, got carried away there -- pretending to be a documentary narrator. Here's the same Guardian Warrior slashing at us despite being wounded.


Fang and I approach the Minor Erdtree and an apparition of another player appears almost leading us to the battle field.


Fang left to use the bathroom real quick so I kept an eye on his character while he temporarily away.


Once he's back, Fang starts things off by flinging a fire-bomb at the Erdtree Avatar which is a good choice since the enemy's made of wood.


I follow up with a Whirl of Flame incantation which takes a lot longer to cast than I expected -- or maybe I was holding L1 too long and charged it.


My Whirl of Flame slowly trails after the Erdtree Avatar and, while it's done some good damage, I see that it'll continue to fail at staggering our enemy and Fang's getting clobbered.


I get up close and cast Flame of the Fell God which comes out as a little ball at first but after a second ...


... And then gets bigger and bigger.


The Erdtree Avatar turns around and tries to smash me with its hammer staff but I've already teleported backwards with my Ash of War, Bloodhound Step.


Here I am safely away just waiting for my floating sun spell to go ...



GIF Source


My Tarnished character jumping out of the way after getting way too close.


I hang back and wait for another opening to do the same fire spell. While my magic's very effective here, I want Fang to still have most of the fight so I try to kick back and chill.


I do one more spell after Fang's life gets depleted by a bit.


Aaaaannnnndddd .... THUMBNAIL.


It's quite the point of view to watch from a distance while someone battles a boss and how interesting it is to watch their movements while they dodge laser -- the 1st person perspective is so different from a distant 3rd person one.


Speaking of lasers, here I am jumping into a bush to save myself from getting hit by the tree boss's golden laser shower.


I take a magic potion before prepping for a little experiment I want to do.


Fang and I maneuver so the boss moves a bit from the trees.


I cast a Lightning Strike attack ... but he's too damn far away so it misses!


GIF Source
How embarrassing ... even Fang was laughing.


I try one more time but even though it hits the spell does minor damage compared to my fire incantations.


I watch Fang dodge more lasers while I move far away. The battle is almost over and so I want to make sure he gets all the final swings.


I find a nice good spot that's distant enough that if the tree launched their golden shower attack I could get up and dodge the lasers.


But as soon as I found it, Fang slashes the Erdtree Avatar to pieces and the battle is already done! I'll have to sit out of the fight sooner next time -- Fang's gotten really strong.


I get a Rune Arc and a Furcalling Finger Remedy. Finger Remedies help you see multiplayer summon-signs and Rune Arcs ... I have no idea what those do but I think I have 20 of them now.

Here's a video of the full fight below:

Hope you enjoyed this post and feel free to leave comments!

See you all on the next post of my Elden Ring adventure!

Sort:  

Elden ring is a highly recommended game in today's gaming communities! I have a couple of friends who have told me to give it a try and this post has convinced me! As soon as I have a chance I'll give it a try.

 2 years ago  

Yeah it's a lot of fun. I've gone for a magic-melee hybrid build with a faith focus but there's a lot of other different combinations which are a fun to try!