A Hat in Time | Indie Game Review + Gameplay

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

Hello Hive Gamers!

Well, it’s time for me to talk about another indie game.

capsule_616x353 (1).jpg

Image Source

The game I will be sharing today is called A Hat in Time. It is an action-adventure 3D platformer that was developed by the indie studio Gears for Breakfast and was released in 2017. It is currently available for Windows, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch and macOS.

ss_eb442a7301b8a0d8e94c4064575ebe68d77deb12.jpg

Image Source

It is a 3D platformer that is inspired by older 3D platform games like Super Mario 64 but instead of collecting stars like in Super Mario, you are collecting hour glasses a.k.a. Time Pieces (The game’s story explains why you are collecting them).

ss_40164f47cf9968dca15a1e70547bf286b32b93c1.jpg

Image Source

It has this mechanic where you are able to collect Yarn which you can use to create hats that give you special abilities such as being able to throw explosive potions or being able to sprint. You are also able to purchase different badges for the hats using the in-game currency and these give some minor buffs like automatically opening your umbrella before you hit the ground if you are falling from a high point (The character uses an umbrella as the main weapon, that’s how this is possible) but some of the badges are actually silly and don’t serve much of a purpose or just makes the game harder like one that muffles the NPC’s voices so that you can’t hear what they are saying.

The game has various levels to offer which are open and free to explore. This gives the chance to be able to explore for a bit, collect some items and solve some extra puzzles that you may find around.

ss_6453e79583a08067dca7ed933628b3f6ff102bf6.1920x1080.jpg

Image Source

I’ve spent a bit of time on this game and I can say that this is one of the best indie games I’ve ever played. I really enjoyed every aspect of it from the graphics to the overall gameplay. I don’t really like the camera positioning that much though but that didn’t spoil the fun for me.

First off, the game uses a cartoony graphic style which I found to be adorable especially with some of the idle animations and interactions from the main character.

ss_88ea21213a4c788a1736dd45a70ae0f85ae4746d.1920x1080.jpg

Image Source

In a post where I talked about an indie called Owlboy (You can find it here), I talked about how I just rushed to download that game’s soundtrack. Well, I did the same thing with this one too. I really liked the game’s rich soundtrack which differs from jazz to rock to electronic so I just rushed as fast as I could to download it because I quickly got obsessed with it.

The game also has a co-op multiplayer mode that you can play with a friend either in person or online.

I haven’t really spent a lot of time on this game but I can tell that this is a game that will take a while before I actually stop playing it.

Here is some gameplay footage of it:

Video by Merg

Download link:
Steam

As always, thank you for reading. Bye now.

Sort:  

The enemy models remind me a bit of some character models in the old Bugs Bunny game for PS1. For some reason it drew my mind back there. Looks good! I don't play to many indie games but when I do they usually turn out to be great.

Congratulations @sidkay588! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Connect

Trade


@sidkay588! This post has been manually curated by the $PIZZA Token team!

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza. Enjoy a slice of $PIZZA on us!