Revived Witch - First Impressions

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)

revived_witch.jpg

Introduction

Revived Witch is an adventure RPG available for mobile on the Google Play and Apple App stores. Revived Witch is put out by Yostar, the company beind games such as Arknights and Azur Lane. I’ve been playing casually for a few weeks, and this is my opinion of the game so far.

You play as the Witch, a character who awakens in a forest with little recollection of your memories. As you begin your journey, you make your way to a magical tower and adventure through other lands as you recall your memories and fulfill your destiny.
screenshot_20211227_182043_revived_witch.jpg

As you play you encounter many other characters who enrich the story and who you can summon from the gacha to form your teams you use to explore the world maps, fight combats, and engage in PVP.
screenshot_20211227_181959_revived_witch.jpg

Graphics and Art

When I began vanlife I sold my large desktop computer and planned on finding some fun mobile games to play to scratch my gaming itch. One of the things that prompted me to download and try Revived Witch is the art.

The anime style art of the game and the character design is well done. The characters, referred to as dolls, have fantastic art in their character screens. Character art changes as you progress your characters.
screenshot_20220103_204757_revived_witch.jpg

I admit, I love a game with well designed waifus, and Revived Witch ticks that box. My current main DPS is a mage named Ushpia, a top tier waifu for sure.
screenshot_20211227_190057_revived_witch.jpg

Exploring the maps is done in a 2D top down pixel art. Combat is reminiscent of older JRPGs and is also pixel art. While watching me play one evening, my wife remarked what a pretty game it is, and she’s right. The lighting and colors keep the pixel art exciting and the character sprites and enemies look great.
screenshot_20220123_143607_revived_witch.jpg

All in all, I really enjoy the look of this game.

Sound, Voice, and Music

After installing, I had to wait a bit while the game downloaded updates. As it updated, music played over the download screen. It was pleasant, and relaxing.

All in all the music is good. It matches the overall atmosphere of the game well. It’s not a soundtrack I’d listen to outside of the game like some games have. But it’s definitely well above average.
screenshot_20211227_185231_revived_witch.jpg

The voice acting is in Japanese and features some fantastic voice actors. I don’t speak Japanese, so I can’t speak to the quality of the dialog, but each character seems distinctively voiced. The voice actors did a good job.

Story

The story is where I begin to have some reservations. The art and sound are great. But the story seems underdeveloped to me.

Of course, some of this could be in the less than stellar work that was put into translating the game to English, but the story is simplistic and feels like it relies on familiar tropes to force it along.
screenshot_20211227_182824_revived_witch.jpg

You wake up, you don’t remember stuff, you adventure. Piece by piece the story is revealed. Characters are introduced. But at no point do I really feel like I care about these characters.

Right now I’m halfway through the 3rd of 4 available chapters in the game. So, I’ll withhold final judgment until I get closer to what is currently endgame, but for now it isn’t the story that keeps me picking up the game.

Game Play

Where the story is lacking, the art and music pick up the slack. And somewhere in the middle of that continuum is the game play.

From a game play standpoint, the game provides what I’m looking for in a game right now. It’s simple. I can play it causally, put it down for a few days, pick it back up, and not feel lost.

All in all, there is a lot to do. Explore the maps and fight enemies. The auto combat feature takes care of that nicely, since the combat itself isn’t terribly deep.
screenshot_20211227_183729_revived_witch.jpg

The Witch’s Courtyard screen allows you to send dolls on missions to get XP or other resources. You can build out your cottage with furniture that makes it look nice and cozy and helps your dolls to recover after their missions.
screenshot_20220123_132219_revived_witch.jpg

There are numerous ways to acquire new dolls, the main one being the gacha. From there you need to acquire and spend various resources to level them up and improve them.

And that is, for me, the compelling part of the game. Gear sets need to be optimized, dolls leveled, and teams formed that have good synergy and are fun. To that end, there’s a lot of grinding to do, and that’s just fine with me for a casual game.

Your team is built with 3 main characters, and a backup for each should they fall. After you unlock the friends feature, you can select a friend’s doll to assist your team. While there are many ways to build a team, a typical Tank, Healer, DPS format works just fine.
screenshot_20220123_140232_revived_witch.jpg

Conclusion

Revived Witch is providing most of what I’m looking for in a game at the moment. The gacha is fun, the characters are great, and leveling them is engaging. I can forgive some lack of imagination in the story for all of the other things being present.

I’ll be sure to write other articles as I get better at the game and have strategies to share for summoning, team building, and updates on events as they roll out.

For now, I’m going to get back to grinding. There’s a particular boss that’s giving me a hard time, and the only thing to do is get stronger.
screenshot_20220123_133030_revived_witch.jpg

All in all, it's worth playing if you're looking for a very casual game to play with great art and music.

Are you playing Revived Witch? Who are you using for your main team? And if you’re not playing, does this seem like a game you’d try?

Sort:  

Congratulations @starbork! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 80 posts.
Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22

Some great art in this game that's for sure. I used to be all about gacha games a while back but I never stumbled upon this one. Might have released after I stopped playing mobile games. Enjoy it!

This one is fairly new. It released late last year if I recall correctly. So far I'm digging it. But we'll see when I get to endgame if there's enough content to keep it worth playing. That may be where it ends up lacking.
!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@starbork(1/5) tipped @pusen (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

This looks awesome. My phone can't run Genshin and stuff like that but this seems like a really good replacement.

My phone can't handle genshin either. That's why I'm trying a bunch of new games. But even this game is taking up 4GB storage and lags a bit on my phone.

It's rough that some of these mobile games are so resource intensive.

True. I remember playing all the latest games on the cheap Galaxy SII TV I got in 2014, now you need a high end beast to play things.

Companies have gotten used to most of the first world using iPhones or high-end Galaxy phones. Meanwhile I'm stuck with an LG K41S because all other stuff is too expensive.