[ENG//ESP] My Worst Gaming Experiences – Spoiler: I can’t choose just one.

in Hive Gaming4 years ago


English

Like all of you, throughout my life as a player I have had wonderful experiences, and others that at the time left me lying on the floor, but today are just another memory, and as the title says, I do not have a single experience that I'd like to share, so let's go one by one.


Need For Speed: Carbon


EA

During the 2000s, here in my country both Carbon and Most Wanted were two sacred games, it was very difficult to go to an internet café and not find at least one of these, along with the legendary Counter-Strike 1.6 or GTA: San Andreas.

Personally, I played Carbon on my PS2, a racing game with a controller has always seemed more comfortable to me than with a keyboard.


Gfycat

At that time I was like 9 or 10 years old, and I was not very skilled in driving games far from it, so every race was really a challenge, I did everything I could to win and put all the effort I could into achieving it, every time I lost, I would restart the race until I won it, and so on with everything.

Those who have played Carbon will know that there are special races against the bosses of each zone, these are carried out in descending canyons, what is different from these to all the others is that many edges are made so that it is possible to fly out of the road if you are not careful, these races for me were the very HELL, adding that you had to maintain a constant speed so that the boss did not get too close to us.

Time passed, and I arrived with Darius, the chief boss of the entire city, I remember that both his career in the city and that of the canyon were horrible for me, he was very fast and if I crashed too much he ended up winning.


NFS Wiki

I don't know if it was skill or luck, but one day I finally beat him, it was simply glorious, SERIOUSLY GLORIOUS, I could hear the angels singing my victory, and then my bad luck hits me in the nose...

I was about to save after the race, in order to ensure my victory and leave it reflected on the Memory Card, what happened is that just when I was saving there was a BLACKOUT, at the worst possible moment without a doubt, the worst thing is that it was something momentarily and the electricity came back a few minutes later.

When I turned on the PS2 again I found something very sad, and that is that my save data had been corrupted because of the blackout, and everyone knows what that means.

Today there is data storage in the cloud, backups, and security measures to avoid data loss as much as possible, but obviously a PS2 does not have anything of that style, so my only option was to fall into denial for a good time. All those hours of effort thrown away by a power failure and a save at the wrong time.


Pinterest

Over the years I have tried to finish the game few times but I never reach the end and I always end up playing something else, at this point it becomes more tedious than really difficult, but one day I will finish it as it should be.

Since then I have been very paranoid about saving something important, as soon as I achieve something I rush to save before some wild blackout appears and takes back what I just achieved.


Operation 7


Taringa!

I have not played many online games in my life, but this is one of those that I invested some time in, a first person shooter that looks a bit like Counter-Strike, it even has a map almost identical to one of CS.


DownloadSource

It was not good at all playing it, and when I achieved a kill it was a small visit to Nirvana, and that I played against people of my level, which was very low.

It is one of those games where to level up you have to play... A LOT, hours and hours just to go up one level.

Upon reaching level 6, or 16, I really do not remember that detail (sorry about that), the game prevented you from joining games for beginners, and you went to something more intermediate, the fact is that my first game was a chaos, because in those matches there was people with grenade launchers that were unlocked at higher levels, and they abused them in an extreme way, because they did not let my team even leave the spawn place, nor did they give the opportunity to shoot, it was the definition of "unfair" in a game.


"Konter" Dani - ArtStation

And it was not the only one, many matches were like that, a total disaster wherever you went, and a rather uneven matchmaking where the difference in skill and especially in equipment was very noticeable.

This caused me to leave Operation 7 despite the hours I had spent trying to improve, it was simply too much for me and it was probably my worst experience in multiplayer.


Minecraft


Nintendo

The best-selling sandbox in history, a game where the possibilities are almost endless, just as the number of people who play it seems infinite.

Although my criticism is not really towards the game, because I do not consider it a bad game at all, just my experience with it was bad.

Initially it was a bit boring to play alone, and with my 13 years and without a penny to spend on games because I had a pirated version (something I'm not very proud of), which did not allow me to enter the normal servers to those who have access all those who buy the game legally.


Gfycat

The infamous "Non-Premium" servers, some better than others, and some much worse than others, servers where all the pirates gather to simulate the experience of a "Premium" server, but the differences are very palpable.

Most of the servers I encountered were full of lag, hackers and people with whom it was preferable not to play, there were also very good people, because you cannot generalize.

But my point is that the experience on those servers was a disaster, when you were about to win a game in any way the lag could attack you and... surprise! you are dead, you fell, or directly the server's anti-cheat system would kick you because it thought you were " flying".

I honestly reached a point where I couldn't stand those conditions, and I learned that it is always better to own legal video games to avoid experiences like that as much as possible.


Tenor

The moral of this is, support the studios and buy the video games that you consume, it is always preferable to refund a bad game than to take the profits from a good one.


EXTRA: Let me tell you a sad story to conclude.

I've been posting from a laptop for a while, and it's not something I'm used to at all and it makes me quite uncomfortable, I need to connect a mouse because the trackpad stresses me a lot, I'm someone who has always used a mouse to do things And I'll probably do it to death.

Well, while I was fixing this post to upload it I was not using my mouse, because I was in another place that was not my house and I had forgotten to bring it with me, so I could only resort to the damn trackpad of the laptop.

I was about to finish, already reaching the farewell, and somehow I managed to get the trackpad to select everything I had written without noticing it, I kept typing like nothing, which caused EVERYTHING to be deleted. I had fixed since then, luckily I had a backup and I just had to add the images again and order the post, but the second time it was a bit more tedious. Despite so many mishaps, here you have it.

And this is where my participation in the Worst Gaming Experiences contest ends, I hope you liked it and thanks for reading to the end.

With nothing else to add, see you in the next post, bye bye.



Español

Como todos ustedes, a lo largo de mi vida como jugador he tenido experiencias maravillosas, y otras que en su momento me dejaron tirado en el piso, pero que hoy día son solo otro recuerdo, y como dice el título, no tengo una sola experiencia que me gustaría compartir, así que vamos una por una.


Need For Speed: Carbon


EA

Durante la década de los 2000, aquí en mi país tanto Carbon como Most Wanted eran dos juegos sagrados, era muy difícil ir a un cybercafé y no encontrar al menos uno de estos, junto al legendario Counter-Strike 1.6 o el GTA: San Andreas.

Personalmente, yo jugaba al Carbon en mi PS2, siempre me ha parecido más cómodo un juego de carreras con un control que con un teclado.


Gfycat

Por aquel entonces tendría 9 o 10 años, y no era muy diestro en los juegos de conducción ni mucho menos, por lo que cada carrera era realmente un reto, hacía todo lo posible para ganar y ponía todo el esfuerzo que pudiera en lograrlo, si perdía, a reiniciar la carrera, y así con todo.

Quienes hayan jugado a Carbon sabrán que hay unas carreras especiales contra los jefes de cada zona, estas se llevan a cabo en cañones en descenso, lo diferente de estas a todas las demás es que muchos bordes están hechos para que sea posible salir volando de la carretera si no se tiene cuidado, estas carreras para mi eran el mismísimo INFIERNO, agregando que había que mantener una velocidad constante para que el jefe de turno no se nos acercara demasiado.

El tiempo pasó, y llegué con Darius, el jefe jefazo de toda la ciudad, recuerdo que tanto su carrera en la ciudad como la del cañón fueron horribles para mi, era muy rápido y si chocaba demasiado me terminaba ganando.


NFS Wiki

No sé si fue habilidad o suerte, pero un día finalmente le gané, fue simplemente glorioso, GLORIOSO EN SERIO, podía escuchar a los ángeles cantando mi victoria, y luego, ocurrió el desastre…

Estaba a punto de guardar luego de la carrera, para así asegurar mi triunfo y dejarlo plasmado en la Memory Card, lo que ocurrió es que justo cuando estaba guardando hubo un apagón, en el peor momento posible sin duda, lo peor es que fue algo de un momento y volvió la electricidad unos minutos después.

Al encender el PS2 nuevamente me encontré con algo muy triste, y es que mis datos de guardado se habían corrompido a causa del apagón, y todos saben lo que eso significa.

Hoy día existe el guardado de datos en la nube, los respaldos, y medidas de seguridad para evitar en lo posible una pérdida de datos, pero obviamente un PS2 no cuenta con nada de ese estilo, así que mi única opción fue caer en negación por un buen rato. Todas esas horas de esfuerzo tiradas a la basura por una falla eléctrica y un guardado en el momento incorrecto.


Pinterest

Con el paso de los años contadas veces he intentado terminar el juego pero nunca llego al final y siempre termino jugando a otra cosa, a estas alturas se me hace más tedioso que verdaderamente difícil, pero algún día lo terminaré como debe ser.

Desde entonces soy muy paranoico a la hora de guardar algo importante, apenas lograr algo me apresuro a guardar antes de que algún apagón salvaje aparezca y me arrebate nuevamente lo que acabo de lograr.


Operation 7


Taringa!

No he jugado a muchos juegos online en mi vida, pero este es uno de esos a los que les invertí algo de tiempo, un shooter en primera persona que se asemeja un poco a Counter-Strike, incluso tiene un mapa casi idéntico a uno de CS.


DownloadSource

No era para nada bueno jugándolo, y cuando lograba una kill era una pequeña visita al Nirvana, y eso que jugaba contra personas de mi nivel, el cual era muy bajo.

Es uno de esos juegos donde para subir niveles tienes que jugar… MUCHO, horas y horas solo para subir un nivel.

Al llegar al nivel 6, o el 16, realmente no recuerdo ese detalle (disculpen), el juego te impedía unirte a partidas para principiantes, y pasabas a algo más intermedio, el caso es que mi primera partida fue un caos, pues en esas partidas habían personas con lanzagranadas que se desbloqueaban en niveles más altos, y abusaban de ellos de una forma extrema, pues no dejaban a mi equipo siquiera salir del lugar de spawn, ni daba oportunidad a disparar, era la definición de “injusto” en un shooter.


"Konter" Dani - ArtStation

Y no fue la única, muchas partidas eran así, un desastre total fueras donde fueras, y un matchmaking bastante disparejo donde se notaba mucho la diferencia de habilidad y sobre todo d equipamiento.

Esto causó que dejara Operation 7 a pesar de las horas que le había invertido intentando mejorar, simplemente era demasiado para mi y fue probablemente mi peor experiencia en un multijugador.


Minecraft


Nintendo

El sandbox más vendido de la historia, un juego donde las posibilidades son casi infinitas, al igual que infinita parece la cantidad de personas que lo juegan.

Aunque realmente mi crítica no es hacia al juego, pues no considero que sea un mal juego en absoluto, simplemente mi experiencia con él fue mala.
Inicialmente se me hacía un poc

o aburrido jugar solo, y con mis 13 años y sin un centavo para gastar en juegos pues tenía una versión pirata (algo de lo que no estoy muy orgulloso), lo cual no me permitía ingresar a los servidores normales a los que tienen acceso todos aquellos que compran el juego de forma legal.


Gfycat

Los infames servidores “No Premium”, unos mejores que otros, y unos mucho peores que otros, servidores donde todos los piratas se reúnen para simular la experiencia de un servidor “Premium”, pero las diferencias son muy palpables.

La mayoría de servidores con los que me encontraba estaban llenos de lag, hackers y personas con las que era preferible no jugar, también había muy buena gente, porque no se puede generalizar.

Pero mi punto es que la experiencia en esos servidores era un desastre, cuando estabas a punto de ganar una partida en cualquier modo el lag podía atacarte y morías, caías, o directamente el sistema anti-cheats del servidor te kickeaba porque pensaba que estabas “volando”.

Sinceramente llegó un punto en el que no soportaba esas condiciones, y aprendí que siempre es mejor poseer los videojuegos legales para evitar en lo posible experiencias como esa.


Tenor

La moraleja de esto es, apoyen a los estudios y compren los videojuegos que consuman, siempre es preferible reembolsar un mal juego que quitarle las ganancias a uno bueno.


EXTRA: Déjenme contarles una triste historia para concluir.

Llevo un tiempo posteando desde una laptop, y no es algo a lo que esté para nada acostumbrado y se me hace bastante incómodo, necesito conectarle un mouse debido a que el trackpad me estresa mucho, soy alguien que siempre ha utilizado mouse para hacer las cosas y lo haré hasta la muerte probablemente.

Bueno, mientras arreglaba este post para subirlo no estaba usando mi mouse, porque estaba en otro lugar que no era mi casa y había olvidado traerlo, así que solo podía recurrir al dichoso trackpad de la laptop.

Estaba a punto de terminar, ya llegando a la despedida, y de alguna forma me las arreglé para que el trackpad seleccionara todo lo que había escrito sin yo darme cuenta, yo seguí tecleando como si nada, lo cual causó que se borrara TODO lo que había arreglado desde ese momento, por suerte tenía un respaldo y solo tenía que agregar nuevamente las imágenes y ordenar el post, pero la segunda vez resultó un pco más tedioso. A pesar de tantos percances, aquí lo tienen.

Y hasta aquí llega mi participación en el concurso de Worst Gaming Experiences, espero les haya gustado y gracias por leer hasta el final.

Sin nada más que agregar, nos vemos en el próximo post, bye bye.

Sort:  

Lamento que tu experiencia con MInecraft no haya sido buena. La verdad es que tuve la suerte de obtener el Minecraft Premium gratis. A pesar de eso mis amigos no lo tenían así que tuve que descargar el Minecraft pirata y la verdad es que en los servidores no premium lo único que pude notar fue mucho lag, pero era totalmente normal ya que los servidores no estaban tan bien alojados como en el premium. Aún así si pudimos hacer el uso normal del juego y pasar unas buenas partidas. Buen post dude.

 4 years ago  

En muy contadas ocasiones había ratos en los que era posible jugar sin tanto lag y de forma aceptable, sin embargo siempre quise tener el Minecraft Premium porque por aquellos años era como "LA MEJOR COSA DEL UNIVERSO" pues podías intentar ir a los servidores con YouTubers y todas esas cosas que eran el mayor sueño de un niño de 13 años.
Gracias por tu comentario dude, un saludo.

Operation 7 is too old right now tho. It really is hart to play at those disaster circumstances which seem to players unfair at both parties. Struggle is real!

 4 years ago  

I know right, but I played it like in 2013-2014, I was a child and the game was free so...

But yes, nowadays there are many other games that are very good and worth it, Operation 7 was a good option because my pc has always been limited, but anyone with a decent pc these days can afford anything better.

Thanks for your comment!