Trying to revive my laptop one more time ...

in Hive Gaming2 months ago

IMG_5017.jpg

Many of you will wonder why I disappeared for several weeks...

Because I suddenly write some posts and disappear again for months; Here I will explain what happens...

In addition to the fact that my job forces me to be busy most of the day (sun) and until nightfall that I barely relax to keep my house tidy and clean, it also forces me to travel out of the city and sometimes outside of the state in which I am currently living.

So I have very little time left to enjoy the things I like... including sharing my experiences and playing with my friends.

Everything is new for me since it is the first time that I have moved alone to another country and at the same time I live alone, so many times I overthink like "what is going on tomorrow if" since everything depends solely on me, and that tires my mind even more, in itself. My job is quite physically demanding.

So what does Uncle Syde work on?

My main job right now is being a state contractor; In short, I have to be present in many public jobsites such as electricity plants, water treatment plants, hospitals, and government offices.

I am usually the person in charge of ensuring that these public places function correctly and are working under their basic standards and complying with their annual regulations on cleaning, remodeling painting, etc...

For a while now I have been saving money to buy a good gaming laptop, and this is how I did it:

I was able to buy an Acer Predator Helios with some beautiful specs:

  • 240Hz Screen 16inch
  • i7 13700HX
  • RTX 4070
  • 16 RAM
  • 1TB SSD

For only $1,490!

It was a bit of luck to find this great offer and take advantage of it but not everything went as expected...

After waiting a long 2 weeks for shipping to my home; When I turned on the laptop and gave it the first touches, It worked fantastic, the Predator Helios is an incredibly aesthetically beautiful and comfortable laptop, but fortunately, my laptop came with a factory defect that at first glance I couldn't stand...

IMG_5030.jpg

When the laptop screen focused on a black image or a dark image, some white light leaks could be noticed at the ends of the screen, especially that eminent White spot just to the left of the logo Predator

A great shame since it bothered me a lot visually; I am a very detail-oriented and perfectionist person, therefore those small details hinder me a lot, and of course it is a clear sign of a factory defect, therefore I had to use my 1-month return guarantee and I was able to return it...

To then received the news that my money was going to be returned in approximately 1 month and 15 business days after returning the product...

Putting me a little further behind in my path to getting another new laptop, since I couldn't touch any more money from my savings for my safety and emergency fund.

Below I will show you some photos of the Predator Helios that I took before saying goodbye...

IMG_5088.jpg

IMG_5012.jpg

IMG_5020.jpg

IMG_5015.jpg

IMG_5018.jpg

Without a doubt, it is a laptop that I perfectly recommend; Just make sure that your laptop reaches your hands in perfect condition and that you buy it with an offer or coupon.

With these specs we are talking about a Tekken 8 with ULTRA graphics running at 450FPS... so you can imagine all the power this laptop had.

CHUCHU.png

My Old Laptop

CHUCHU.png

IMG_5131.jpg

This situation led me to the obligation to return to my old and first gaming laptop... my HP OMEN

It is not as powerful for today's games but it has always responded efficiently; A model that I highly recommend.

Its price is excellent for the quality and durability it gives you; an excellent option, in this case, we are talking about the HP OMEN 16

In the case of my OMEN, it needed maintenance; a new thermal paste, deep cleaning, some strategic cooling pads, and 8Gb RAM since it had 12Gb.

So today I took on the task of reviving it completely with my own hands:

IMG_5143.jpg

I am not an expert in this nor a great connoisseur... but I think you didn't have to realize that this laptop needed a good cleaning and thermal paste after about 7 years of continuous use.

IMG_5149.jpg

After dismantling the heatsink and the Fancooler, I was able to remove a few balls of dust that were already solid like chewing gum, covering the air inlets and outlets...

At this time I also took advantage of applying the new 8Gb RAM to have a total of 16Gb and give my laptop a little more control.

IMG_5139.jpg

Once I had cleaned everything with alcohol, some alcohol wipes and dry napkins, I proceeded to put new thermal paste on it and install some strategic Cooling pads.

IMG_5151.jpg

Here we can see a little of the processor chip and the video card chip just before applying the final paste.

IMG_5155.jpg

In this image, I can show you the points where I applied the Cooling pads; some in the RAM, others in the SSD card, and on the plates surrounding the video card microchip.

These were the things I used and their brands:

  • Use ARTIC MX-6 4G thermal paste; since this version is the one that presents the greatest efficiency for the price.

IMG_5136.jpg

  • The pads I used were of the same brands, ARTIC TP-3 120X20MM, 1mm

IMG_5133.jpg

Any alcohol is suitable for this procedure; Although I always recommend a high percentage of alcohol because this way it will evaporate faster and we avoid wet concentration spots.

IMG_5146.jpg

After completing the cleaning and putting everything in its place I was a little scared if the laptop was going to turn on or even if it was going to work correctly...

Thanks to everything we could do, you were able to lower the temperature from about 70C and 60C to about 40C and 50C.

Untitled.png

Excellent results since we were able to reduce a difference of almost 20C, in these matters it is a lot, especially with a slightly old laptop like this one that only has one Fancooler.

IMG_5108.jpg

To my great fortune, the entire procedure was a success and everything worked correctly, so officially I think I have given a few more years of life to this laptop and I hope you will continue to accompany me in making more posts until I can finally retire it and buy one better 👽

This HP OMEN has some specs:

  • 16 GB RAM

  • i7 6700HQ 2.60Hz

  • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 965M

  • 250GB SSD, 1TB Solid

For that reason I recommend that you choose very well and patiently whatever you are going to buy and not declare victory ahead of time, always think clearly and make the best decision; Sometimes you have to leave your feelings and preferences aside to achieve much better things!

Good luck to everyone and thanks for being here!🍀.

I hope to have more and more time and be here full-time guys👾!

CHUCHU.png

Spanish

CHUCHU.png

IMG_5017.jpg

Muchos de ustedes se preguntaran porque desaparezco por varias semanas...

Por que derrepente escribo algunos post y vuelvo a desaparecer por incluso meses; aqui les explicare que sucede...

Ademas de que mi trabajo me obliga a estar la mayor parte del dia (sol) ocupado y es hasta que llega la noche que apenas me desocupo para mantener mi casa ordenada y limpia, tambien me obliga a viajar fuera de la ciudad y algunas veces fuera del estado en el cual actualmente estoy viviendo.

Por lo que me queda incluso muy poco tiempo para disfrutar de las cosas que me gustan... entre ellas compartir mis experiencias y jugar con mis amigos.

Todo es nuevo para mi ya que es la primera vez que me mudo solo a otro pais y a la vez vivo solo, asi que muchas veces sobre pienso el mañana ya que todo depende unicamente de mi y eso cansa mas mi mente, ya de por si mi trabajo es bastante demandante fisicamente.

Entonces de que trabaja el tio Syde?

Mi trabajo principal ahora mismo es ser contratista del estado; en pocas palabras tengo que estar presente en muchas obras publicas como plantas electricas, de tratamiento de agua, hospitales y oficinas gubernamentales.

Usualmente soy la persona encargada de que esas obras publicas funcionen correctamente y esten trabajando bajo sus estandaras basicos y cumpliendo su normativa anual sobre limpieza, remodelacion y pintura etc...

Desde hace un tiempo he estado ahorrando dinero para comprarme una buena laptop gaming, y asi lo hice:

Pude comprarme una Acer Predator Helios con unas hermosas espec:

  • 240Hz Screen 16inch
  • i7 13700HX
  • RTX 4070
  • 16 RAM
  • 1TB SSD

Por tan solo 1.490$!

Fue un poco de suerte encontrar esta gran oferta y aprovecharla pero no todo salio como esperaba...

Despues de esperar unos largos 2 semanas de envio hacia mi domilicio; al encender la laptop y darle los primeros retoques, de lo cual funcionaba fantastica, la Predator Helios es una laptop increiblemente preciosa esteticamente y comoda, pero por mi fortuna mi laptop venia con un defecto de fabrica que a simple vista no soportaba...

IMG_5030.jpg

Cuando el screen de la laptop enfocaba alguna imagen en negro o una imagen oscura se podia notar algunas filtraciones de luz blanca por los extremos del screen sobre todo ese eminente White spot justo a la izquierda del logo de Predator

Una gran pena ya que me molestaba mucho visualmente; soy una persona muy detallista y perfeccionista por lo tanto esos pequeños detalles me estorban mucho, y pues claro es una señal clara de un defecto de fabrica por lo tanto tuve que usar mi garantia de devolucion de 1 mes y la pude devolver...

Para luego recibir la noticia que mi dinero iba a ser devuelto en aproximadamente 1 mes y 15 dias habiles despues de devolver el producto...

Haciendo que me atrasara un poco mas en mi camino para obtener otra nueva laptop, ya que no podia tocar mas dinero de mis ahorros por mi seguridad y fondo de emergencias.

A continuacion les mostrare algunas fotos sobre la Predator Helios que tome antes de decirle el adios...

IMG_5088.jpg

IMG_5012.jpg

IMG_5020.jpg

IMG_5015.jpg

IMG_5018.jpg

Sin duda alguna es una laptop que recomiendo perfectamente; solo asegurate que tu laptop llegue a tus manos en perfectas condiciones y la compres con alguna oferta o cupon.

Con estas espec estamos hablando de un Tekken 8 con graficos en ULTRA corriendo a 450FPS... asi que podras imaginar todo el poder que tenia esta laptop.

CHUCHU.png

Mi antigua laptop

CHUCHU.png

IMG_5131.jpg

Esta situacion me llevo a la obligacion de volver a mi antigua y primera laptop gaming... mi HP OMEN

No es tan potente para los juegos de hoy en dia pero siempre ha respondido eficientemente; un modelo que recomiendo muchisimo.

Su precio es excelente para la calidad y durabilidad que te dan; una excelente opcion, en este caso hablamos de la HP OMEN 16

En el caso de mi OMEN le hacia falta mantenimiento; una pasta termica nueva, limpieza profunda, algunos cooling pads estrategicos y una RAM de 8Gb ya que tenia 12Gb.

Asi que el dia de hoy tome la tarea de revivirla por completo con mis propias manos:

IMG_5143.jpg

No soy un experto en esto y tampoco un gran conocedor... pero creo que tampoco habia que serlo para darse cuenta que a esta laptop le hacia falta una buena limpieza y pasta termica despues de unos 7 años de uso continuo.

IMG_5149.jpg

Despues de desmantelar el disipador y el Fancooler, pude lograr sacarle unas cuentas bolas de polvo ya solidas como el chicle tapando las entradas y salidos de aire...

En este momento tambien aproveche de aplicar la nueva RAM de 8Gb para asi tener un total de 16Gb y darle un poco mas de control a mi laptop.

IMG_5139.jpg

Una vez que haya limpiado todo con alcohol y algunas toallitas humedas con alcohol y servilletas secas procedi a echarle pasta termica nueva e instalarle algunos Coolingpads estrategicos.

IMG_5151.jpg

Aqui podemos apreciar un poco el chip del procesador y el de la tarjeta de video justo antes de aplicar la pasta termina.

IMG_5155.jpg

En esta imagen les puedo mostrar como los puntos en donde aplique los Coolingpads; algunos en la RAM, otros en la tarjeta SSD y en las placas que rodean el microchip de la tarjeta de video.

Estas fueron las cosas que utilice y sus marcas:

  • Utilice pasta termica ARTIC MX-6 4G; ya que esta version es la que presenta mayor eficiencia por el precio.

IMG_5136.jpg

  • Los pads que utilice fueron de la misma marcas unos ARTIC TP-3 120X20MM, 1mm

IMG_5133.jpg

Cualquier alcohol es adecuado para este procedimiento; aunque yo recomiendo siempre un alto porcentaje de alcohol porque asi se va a evaporar mas rapido y evitamos puntos de concentracion humedos.

IMG_5146.jpg

Luego de culminar la limpieza y poner todo en su sitio estaba un poco asustado por si la laptop iba a encender o incluso si iba a funcionar correctamente...

Gracias a todo lo que pudimos hacerle; logramos bajar la temperatura de unos 70C y 60C a unos 40C y 50C.

Sin título.png

Un excelente resultados ya que pudimos lograr una diferencia de casi 20C, en estos temas es muchisimo sobretodo con un laptop un poco antigua como esta y que solo posee un Fancooler

IMG_5108.jpg

Para mi gran fortuna todo el procedimiento fue un exito y todo funcionaba correctamente, asi que oficialmente creo que le he dado unos años mas de vida a esta laptop y espero que me siga acompañando en hacer mas post hasta que por fin pueda jubilarla y comprar una mejor 👽

Esta HP OMEN dota de unas spec:

  • 16 Gb RAM

  • i7 6700HQ 2.60Hz

  • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 965M

  • 250GB SSD, 1TB Solid

Por esa razon les recomiendo que eligan muy bien y con paciencia lo que sea que vayan a comprar y no cantar victoria antes de tiempo, siempre piensen con claridad y tomen la mejor decision; a veces hay que dejar los gustos y preferencias a un lado para conseguir cosas mucho mejores!

Suerte a todos y gracias por acompañarme🍀.

Espero poco a poco tener cada vez mas tiempo y estar aqui de tiempo completo👾.

Sort:  

Broh, well frakkin done dude on reviving that dead lappy!

Seriously, there aren't a lot of people that ca n figure that shit out!

Respect!

Thanks dude, nothing more than a youtube tutorial and some common sense haha

Laughs... the common sense is what most people lack🤣🤣🤣

I hope your laptop runs smoothly my friend, mine is starting to whisper in my ear that I should replace it 😂

HAHA that one is asking you for retirement😂

Que te dure la laptop brother... Nunca hay que abandonar una computadora fiel

Gracias!, espero darle un mejor futuro y dueño proximamente

That Omen is still a nice laptop, good enough for almost anything except maybe the latest games.

Oh yeah, for the price of $300 it is the best investment of my life.

Un mantenimiento regular es una excelente idea para darle más tiempo de vida útil a nuestros equipos. Le felicito por haber hecho el mantenimiento, espero que pueda disfrutar del computador por buen tiempo.

Gracias por los honoríficos!

Espero aprender cada vez mas para poder darle un mantenimiento mas complejo.