MTG Arena —Premier Draft Amhonket Remastered Losing Match 08 13 2021

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

So I signed up for Arena's Amhonket Remastered draft event on a whim. I'm not much of a player in the limited format. I figured the draft itself would be a good way to add some interesting new cards. The only strategy I followed for drafting was:

  1. If it's mythic, take it
  2. After that if the art is so cool it catches your eye, take it
  3. Finally take the lower manna drops in each pick (since that lines up with all my current ideas for constructed decks)

But somewhere that night I dropped in on the event for a change of pace after an hour of cycling through Standard Rank and 100 Card Historic Brawl (Yay!)

A deck drafted following those three rules felt more or less random and klunky. But to my surprise I won my first match of the event handily and went on to have three pretty engaging and close losses while I learned about the cards I had scarfed up.


This work may include unofficial fan content as permitted under the Wizards of the Coast Fan Content Policy. Fan content has not been approved nor endorsed by WotC. Accordingly, such materials remain the property of Wizards of the Coast. This includes copyrights, trademarks and all other applicable intellectual property rights. This notice is not intended to waive the author's right to fair use nor any other rights to use the materials.