Pressing Restart: Navigating Nostalgia and Challenging Classic Games

in Hive Gaming4 months ago (edited)

GRINDIN’ AINT DEAD.png

And gaming ain't dead, either.

My endless stream of things to say comes from the endless stream of things others said. I consume, therefore, I produce. So, about two weeks ago, I saw a headline from a game critic mention something resonant. He kicked his video game burnout with a return to the classics.

While I found the perspective interesting enough to save, I procrastinated a proper response and literal read of the article until today. Go figure. The endless stream of content and media doesn't promote indolence, after all.

Today's games

...don't hold much appeal in my eyes. The deliberate choice to filter which titles I collect and consequently contribute time to sharpens one sense, at least. The appreciation of a game's appeal comes from the earnest desire to play it mindfully.

Discord househusbands banter nightly. Games largely lack something lately. That might not be very clear, but consider this. Games that enjoy critical acclaim galvanize their audiences somehow. A fraction of your player base reaches the final boss like with Elden Ring and people revel in the trial. Microtransactions and gambling might inspire your players to spend unreal amounts of time and money to acquire new characters and weapons like with Genshin Impact's success.


image.png

Why I Returned to 2001 Handheld for Games

Aside from mind-bending nostalgia, I have personal reasons. Without shifting gears too much, I embrace the philosophical implications of our finite time. Some games represent youth, wonder, discovery as well as unfinished challenges, incomplete records. Without a record, while the event may have come to pass, unwritten stories feel like regret. I could've. I should've. I want to say I did. All games represent completionism to a degree; I don't necessarily want to start many games but never finish. That's an amateur racer.

450px-Battle_Frontier_Map.png

Artwork of Hoenn's Battle Frontier, featuring seven battle facilities

The Goal:

Almost 20 years later, I want to complete the strategic feat that is beating the Battle Frontier. The television series of Pokemon that corresponds to the game I played was called Advanced Battle. We had cable back then; behind closed eyes I can still picture the characters on the screen of a massive television set in an apartment living room. I would see more of the next series, which actually detailed Ash Ketchum's journey to complete the Battle Frontier of the Kanto region.

Recognizing the show on TV isn't why I still play this game, though. Nintendo must've known an inept main character would motivate children to buy the game if only to fare better than him.

Ash, protected by television studio interests and plot armor, failed to capture any skill in his travels as a Pokémon trainer. Saturday morning cartoons featured a hasty, boisterous boy coming of age at turtle's pace, with the help of a dependable, but overutilized sidekick, and a cast of individuals.

But, the boy could not battle. As well written as the intention was, Ash's consistent failure to manifest during challenges or otherwise infuriated me past the point of watching. But I could play.

GRINDIN’ AINT DEAD (1).png

The Details:

The challenge isn't easy, or I'd have done it already years ago. In fact, if you talk to people still aware of this millennial title, most might admit they don't even remember there was such a challenge in Pokemon Emerald. For me, this remains a time where I felt real wonder in the challenges of a game, the perseverance necessary to at least finish the base game, and the gratitude for even owning one of these titles. Video games did not receive the praise I give it, from my entire household.

An aside:


Interestingly enough, the Battle Frontier didn't come back because players like me are a minority. According to an interview with Junichi Masuda, the Battle Frontier did not make a return in Pokémon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire for the following reason:

"Put simply, the Battle Frontier wasn't included because only a tiny number of players would have appreciated and used this game feature. Players get fed up more easily than they did in the past and aren't attracted by these 'demanding' challenges."

Could it be true? Might games lack something in luster these days because gamers quit too easily?


There are seven Frontier Brains, each head of their own facility. The first faceoff earns you the corresponding silver badge. A second rematch with a different team awaits for the gold badge of accomplishment, signifying a completed facility.

Frontier BrainFacilitySymbols
Factory Head NolandBattle FactorySilver KnowledgeGold Knowledge
Arena Tycoon GretaBattle ArenaSilver GutsGold Guts
Dome Ace TuckerBattle DomeSilver TacticsGold Tactics
Pike Queen LucyBattle PikeSilver LuckGold Luck
Palace Maven SpenserBattle PalaceSilver SpiritsGold Spirits
Pyramid King BrandonBattle PyramidSilver BraveGold Brave
Salon Maiden AnabelBattle TowerSilver AbilityGold Ability

These challenges were no joke. Take a look at this.


300px-Emerald_Dome_Ace_Tucker.png

Dome Ace Tucker features two starters from different regions and a pseudo-Legendary Pokémon.

Dome Ace Tucker

Look at the team for the first challenge! Why do all three of his Pokémon know Earthquake?! In any event, challenges of this caliber ask for some prep. Look forward to what that involves in my next post.

PokemonTypeMovelist
SwampertWater, GroundSurfCounter
EarthquakeIce Beam
SalamenceDragon, FlyingEarthquakeBrick Break
Dragon ClawAerial Ace
CharizardFire, FlyingOverheatRock Slide
EarthquakeAerial Ace

Conclusion

Maybe games aren't as good as they used to be. Or, developers aren't adding more challenges to games given the amount of player base outcry. I know I play games, not only for the joy of the activity, but the added experiences that come with planning, preparation, initial failure and eventual success. I played Overwatch for 6 years, long after many would call such an endeavor rewarding or entertaining, all for the sense of accomplishment of teamwork and coordination. The chef's kiss is making a split-second decision that saves your team or wins the day. One game in particular represents my past, my present, and potentially the future of my gaming habits. I don't want more games to play, I want more games finished.

GRINDIN’ AINT DEAD (2).png

Sort:  

You seem to be a great gamer and also familiar with so many games
I know nothing about games though
Nice one!

Ha! You are too kind. I am more like a boy who doesn't understand his age! My passion makes for lengthy explanations of random trivia. I'm glad you enjoy what I share, still.

Nowadays game like cod can actually be addictive but still I prefer the old good games then

You are really game guru, wish to understand how this game is played. Thanks for sharing

Ah, you praise me so! The game is an old one, so it's not as flashy. I will share more details!

 4 months ago  

Reminds me of how I had went a few years ago to the old NES Contra, which I first played on Contra 4 for DS on my brother's cartridge that had everything unlocked since he somehow completed the whole thing. Took me many tries when revisiting it to learn by trial and error the spots and get things done, even having to resort to auto fire at my last run so far when I lost two of my three or four spare lives in Stage 5...but I managed to complete it without the Konami Code for the first time.

There's definitely something intriguing about getting hooked again with that game of your childhood that you loved to play but could never beat (another one for me was both Daytona USA games- which I eventually completed at home with a GameCube controller), a challenge you left off as a kid because of the curve but now older with more knowledge and dexterity, you can tackle again to finally give it an end.

Sure the most interesting type of backlog you can have, because you have played them a lot long ago, but you might have never learned to master it enough to complete it. Cool read!

You resonate!! Glad you liked it. Yeah, I figure now at my age and experience, I can give this challenge the run it deserves. The story could continue as long as I can send these guys up to the DS and later versions. You should tap in with me for when I write about it next!

You must really be a great gamer. You seems to love the adventure games right