Osiris New Dawn: Captain's log 5 - Dangerous trip and the wrecked buggy

in Hive Gaming5 months ago

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.18.03.62 b.PNG

Come daytime on day 9 and it was time to venture out beyond the maps limits, even just a small way to check what could be out there. Of course this would not be the wisest of moves, generally but I wasn't that far away from my crash site and I could head back there if I needed.

A reinforced crate plus some Uranium were the best things to find though the crate didn't have anything special inside.. I have managed to find another worm out on the edge though so I best be careful of it.

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.17.12.14.png

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.18.12.19.png

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.19.42.75.png

After that bit of excitement it was followed by a massive feeling of dread. The feeling when you know you messed up by not coming prepared..

The buggy broke down to the north of the crash site and a fair way out, so I would need to run and find the leftover bits I was going to need, not something I was wanting on this day. Some blessings come in the form of a meteorite crashing not far from me, one that included both Zirconium and Azurium which is a rare type of element no doubt helpful for future building.

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.20.37.92.png

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.21.57.59.png

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.22.54.20.png

My oxygen was getting lower as a dust storm was hitting, right as I am expected to trek it out back to the bloody crash site. I guess this is what I get for not having some spare materials for fixing a broken buggy so this lesson will be learned and prepare me for the next time.

It was a fair run and walk to be back at the makeshift hut but I did it.. Oxygen got to 27% so I replenished with the crashed pod oxygen tanks before hitting the mine and some resource nodes for what I required along with preparing to repair the droid to take with me.

But the trek back was going to be dangerous, I could see the darkness coming down in the distance, creating a beautiful sight for me to enjoy. Oh how wonderful it looks and how I wish I could enjoy this without the fear of attack at any moment.

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.23.20.56.png

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.35.57.80.png

The few minutes spend admiring the view left as I made my way to repair the droid just after it had gotten dark, noises could be heard in the distance, I moved as quickly as I could until I had it finished and working.

As the noises closed in on the droid and I and I was ready to go, I made a break for the buggy to close off the distance.. the screams and growls of the creatures etching nearer from behind due to their speed, I had to do it.. the knife was out and I stopped before turning to slice at the creatures.

I was hit by the spray which briefly interfered with helmet transmissions and vision. The creature was killed before turning to keep running for the buggy with the one less worry. Eventually the fight continued over time and with the trek back to the buggy, it had taken hours to finally make it back then to repair it and take off.

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.36.42.59.png

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.38.30.33.png

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.42.10.94.png

Driving along in a newly repaired buggy gives the sense of satisfaction and caution, knowing just how dreadful such an ordeal turned out to be because I didn't have the parts to repair it, plus how far out I was.

So naturally when I was driving back and found the Epsilon mine it was safe to say I went in.
I found something I have been needing for taking on these aliens, a pistol with some spare clips and oh will I be keeping an eye out for for!

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 12.56.21.85.png

I finish off the night for what was now day 10, by being out and about against my better judgement.
But finally I could find some Lonsdaleite which had been cracked apart as a part of an asteroid that hit the ground, meaning the steel required to finish off repairing habitat 1 will now be used to finish that off hooray! This venture didn't come without the alien attacks of course though but that couldn't stop this happiness I had.

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 13.08.48.20.png

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 13.08.58.44.png

But the night run must come to an end soon as the sun isn't too far from rising.
Out on my drive back is a group of Fibon trees looking beautiful among the distant rings and darkness, I just had to at least harvest the fruits off one of the trees to take back with me.

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 13.13.16.03.png

Osiris  New Dawn Screenshot 2023.11.18 - 13.14.12.26.png

This was Captain's log 5 - Dangerous trip and the wrecked buggy where Captain T (Thaddeus) Goliath had a dangerous trip out far which included the buggy breaking down and then needing to get the last of what is needed, by foot.

You can find Osiris New Dawn: Captain's log 4 - Base repairs and another mine and asteroid resources here.


Join the Hive Gaming Community to find great gaming content and like-minded gamers at the Hive Gaming Community

Join the Orion's Peak Gaming community Discord

Hive Gaming Community

HGC_Wallpaper.png

Orion's Peak Gaming Community

opg logo2.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @thegoliath! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 80000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Feedback from the December Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - November 2023 Winners List

Please upvote this comment to support upvote-suggestor @bhattg
Join Our Community Discord: https://discord.gg/5FZZqrz6wj