Sort:  

I remmember reading gaming magazines back in the day and seeing Lotus touted as awsome, sadly, I never got to play it myself, I was squarely into console gaming at that time - PC's were just so far out of my budget it wasn't funny, I could barely afford the magazines to even read about PC games.

oh and I actually hardly bought games in those years but was lucky to know some people who were older and handed me games or we copied them on floppy disks. I think I started buying games around 1995 or probably even later.

I lived out in the boonies from 1991 to about 2002 with friends being pen pals 😂 I later got friends that helped with getting to enjoy more games though.

For me it was the other way around, I've never owned a console, not even a gameboy. I am from 1981 and got into PC gaming in the early 90s ( due to my parents buying their first desktop ). My younger brother, born in 1990, grew up playing games, started making games around 2001 or 2002 and became a quite successful indie gamemaker.

That is freaking awesome about your brother. The best I ever got with game development was drawing a circle on screen and doing the first lesson - Hello World challenge 😂 I quickly learned I much prefer to write about games than I did create them, or try to create them.