Amnesia: Rebirth - I Am Scared!

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Amnesia: Rebirth is currently available for free on the Epic Game Store. Reason enough for me to jump into it and face the darkness!

Amnesia_ Rebirth 22.04.2022 17_39_11.png


NOTE:

As this game is heavy story driven I really do not want to spoil too much the adventure you may want to discover yourself, I am just giving you here the first couple of hours of gameplay and avoid telling too much :)


1937, somewhere over the desert of southern Algeria: the Cassandra passenger plane is on its way to the Tin Hinan archaeological site. Also on board are the likeable infantile archaeologist Salim Hannachi and his pregnant wife, the technical draftswoman "Tasi Trianon" - which is the character we play.

The researcher, apparently shaken by his fear of flying, is just about to cling to his stuffed monkey when the nozzles of the steel bird catch fire. There is a rumble and a crash, the interior of the machine goes dark, and panic breaks out all around. Only Salim and his Tasi silently hold hands; then the plane crashes into the hot sand.

Amnesia_ Rebirth 22.04.2022 17_53_59.png
Why do planes in games always crash? However, time to get out of here...

Now you slip into the role of the empathetic Tasi, who, in the tradition of Amnesia, has lost almost all memories.
All you know is that you survived the plane crash. And that all members of the expedition - including Salim - vanished into thin air.

Amnesia_ Rebirth 22.04.2022 18_00_47.png
The game was released late 2020, so it looks pretty reasonable powered by Frictional Games own HPL Engine

The search for the missing fellow researchers is presented in the first-person perspective and is basically divided into two parts. The first half of the game is the adventure part. Here you usually move through short hose levels, which also include the few, sometimes very angular outer areas of the Sahara.
The interior mostly comes in the form of claustrophobic, narrow cave passages and dusty, half-ruined military barracks.

Amnesia_ Rebirth 22.04.2022 18_07_08.png
The story is mainly told by picking up drawings and short notes which you find almost everywhere.

Amnesia_ Rebirth Loading... 23.04.2022 09_54_14.png
Ah, yes, a dark, shady and baleful cave. At this point I neither have a torch or any other kind of light source. So guess what? Exactly! In the darkness I go! Because that's what sane people do!

Amnesia_ Rebirth 22.04.2022 17_42_56.png
At this point I want to display the very first loading screen of the game. I assure you this: This notice can absolutely be taken literaly!

At times, our path leads us into an extremely morbid parallel world, whose technical facilities and sculptures are a bit reminiscent of the arts of Alien.
Especially there, the dense particle effects create an impressive atmosphere.

Amnesia_ Rebirth Loading... 23.04.2022 10_07_42.png

An important element is the fear mechanic throughout the game, which can drive Tasi insane over time whenever she is surrounded by absolute darkness.
This can be remedied by the rare matches that have to be used quickly on torches or candles due to their insanely short burning time.
A portable oil lamp is also available in places, but it only illuminates the area briefly - even with a full tank.

Amnesia_ Rebirth Loading... 23.04.2022 09_57_05.png
Thanks captain obvious

Amnesia_ Rebirth Loading... 23.04.2022 10_06_16.png
At least I got this fancy compass that opens secret doors - or actually gates - leading to other parts of the cave, where the first part of the game takes place

Amnesia_ Rebirth Loading... 23.04.2022 10_18_17.png
Are.... are you alright guys? I guess not...

I laughed out loud once while playing.
That's when I was crawling through one of the numerous caves and she very aptly remarked:

Christ, it's too dark!

Damn it! Amnesia: Rebirth is way too dark most of the time.
Due to a regular lack of matches and lamp oil, I often lost my bearings, dragged along the masonry or cave walls like a donkey and found most of the exits with luck.
Yet, weird noises and the sound of your own pulse keeps you going!

Amnesia_ Rebirth Loading... 23.04.2022 10_33_33.png
After some weird flashbacks (no spoilers here) I finaly got out of the caves. I never was that happy to see the (ingame) sun again!

Amnesia_ Rebirth Loading... 23.04.2022 10_38_30.png
Just to figure out a few minutes later that this was just the beginning...


To make up for the lack of action in the adventure part, the defining element of the second half of the game is occasionally hinted at.
For example, shadowy arms that reach through broken masonry scare you, or a Middle Eastern variant of a ghoul shoots out of the nearby pantry.
The excellent soundscape makes you believe that the personified end of the world is on your heels.




The game knows how to convince.
The lack of action is well compensated for by fear and horror and the story turns out to be reasonably interesting and the levels are detailed and beautifully designed.

However, the permanent darkness can definitely get on your nerves. Not only on those of our characters but also on your own, because the atmosphere of the game quickly casts a (dark) spell.


The game is currently FREE on the Epic Games Store

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I have an unfinished amnesia, my level of nerves could not withstand so much darkness

 2 years ago  

he only kind of games I can't even try are the scary ones, they scare me a lot even though I'm just starting, since it's dark is enough for me not to play it I'd be nervous all the time, plus I guess the kind of sounds that will be heard won't be pretty so no hahaha, even if I grab it in the epic store it will stay there forever without being tried hahahah, good post bro<3

Playing a pregnant woman sets some fans off, but I thought it was refreshing.
I wouldn't say it's their best work but it was few worth a play.

 2 years ago  

Interesting. I mean, as a man I can't exactly identify with a pregnant woman but l didn't really care that much :D

Yeah, I've got everything from Frictional Games but knowing this beforehand I wouldn't have picked it up when it was from a random production house anyway.
But a couple of facepalms later I can say I enjoyed the game after all.

I think it's a good idea, but they could use this idea better.

I would like to play it again. For some reason Amnesia didn't scare me. I don't know how about Rebirth, but I also got it thanks to Epic. I'll have to try it as soon as I have time. Mind you, back in the old youtube days I really enjoyed those who made gameplays and crapped their pants.

 2 years ago  

Yeah, back then when PewDiePie tended to scream most of the time :D

 2 years ago  

me gustaria jugarlo pero no se si me vaya bien el juego, ya eh escuchado mucho de este juego y me intriga ver que tal es

Also try SOMA...

 2 years ago  

Thx for the tip :)

I already have it thanks to epic gifts: Amnesia: The Dark Descent, Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs and well the game in question. I have not played any, I have seen videos and well now I have read your post about this new Amnesia that I have received and boy am I left with the desire. Added to my to-play list. I don't understand how the stories of the three games are to be connected, the graphic work looks really good and the story is just as intriguing as the other two. Thanks for sharing.

I never managed to finish Amnesia (I was little and very scared), as soon as I have time I should pick it up again and then see how Rebirth goes.