Snow Runner - Search & Recover (DLC Review)

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

The phase 1 update for SnowRunner was released in July. "Season 1: Search & Recover" is available as a standalone DLC as well as for Season Pass owners (Premium Edition).

00.png

The first expansion includes the first map (Lake Kovd) from the new icy Russian region "Kola Peninsula", in which you can complete new missions. Especially the thin ice of the lake, which threatens to break at any time, is a challenge.

Let's explore the first mission together and see what the new map has to offer.


Finally the DLC is here!
I am usually not a fan of DLCs but for Snow Runner I was willingly spending my money.
The first mission sends me to pick up some Researchunit Prototype from the old train station.
Nothing easier as that!

A small and mobile vehicle is required so I went for the Yar 87. A light weight 6x6 Scout with some extra fuel on top.
sr0.png
Weapon of choice

In all my excitement I actually flipped it over in the first corner...
sr1.png
Mission Abort! Mission Abort!

Ok, lets move a bit slower. Icy roads snow and even more snow may require lower speeds.
Quick check the map again and plan a route...
The new map offers only a little amount of paved roads. Mostly you're on your own in deep snow or on ice.
Chains on big wheels are a must! 49" wheels in chains should do the trick.

sr2.png
Unlocked the watchtowers previously

Prepared, well fed and a bunch of sandwiches in my backpack I started my trip.
The country side is beautiful as expected. Winter wonderland as far as you can see

sr3.png

When arriving at the train station to pick up the research unit,the sun was already quite low.
Rather hurry up and get back on the "road".
After playing some hide and seek with this thingy I found it hidden between some old broken tracks.

sr4.png

sr5.png
My new little buddy on his way to... somewhere else...

Even though driving through the night might be tricky (damn you dark spots and holes where I fall into) the night has some really beatiful thing to offer <3

sr6.png
Aurora Borealis. A real bummer

sr7.png

Later that night I arrived successfully at the target destination.
Time for a break and some sleep. The next missions will be surely more challenging...

sr8.png
The Tayga King, one of my favourite trucks, is already prepared for his first tasks


Rumors say that one can recover an old bomber plane from the 2nd world war (hence the DLC name)
Already excited for that!

sr9.png

Sort:  

Cars of war and ice, reminds me of the cold war 🇳🇱🇰🇵