dru.munecas cross-posted this post in Multitopics 2 years ago


One of my passions: recycling fabrics / Una de mis pasiones: reciclar telas

in Feel Good2 years ago

Good day to this community, I'm Daniela, from Buenos Aires, Argentina and I tell you about something that gives me a lot of satisfaction: recycling fabrics.

Buen día a esta comunidad, soy Daniela, desde Buenos Aires, Argentina y les cuento sobre algo que me produce mucha satisfacción: reciclar telas.

I work in a company that manufactures clothing, in the systems sector, and a few years ago I was offered some pieces of fabrics that designers receive from suppliers as samples, use them in some season but then throw them away. When I saw the piles and piles of checkbooks with fastened fabrics of the most varied colors, textures and qualities my eyes shone. There I discovered my passion for recycling fabrics, because my mind immediately started to think What can I do with this?

Trabajo en una empresa que fabrica indumentaria, en el sector de sistemas, y hace unos años me ofrecieron algunos retazos de telas que los diseñadores reciben de los proveedores como muestras, los usan en alguna temporada pero luego los tiraban a la basura. Cuando vi las pilas y pilas de talonarios con telas abrochadas de los mas variados colores, texturas y calidades me brillaron los ojos. Ahí descubrí mi pasión por reciclar telas, porque mi mente inmediatamente se puso a pensar ¿Qué puedo hacer con esto?

Since some pieces were small, I thought about making clothes for dolls and donating or selling it. I cheered up and without molds or anything I started dressing the only doll I have, a Barbie. I put together an Instagram and started posting the dresses, and I was pleasantly surprised that in this technological age girls still play with dolls.

Como algunos retazos eran chiquitos, pensé en hacer ropita para muñecas y donarla o venderla. Me animé y sin moldes ni nada comencé a vestir a la única muñeca que tengo, una Barbie. Armé un Instagram y comencé a publicar los vestidos, y me sorprendí gratamente que en esta era tecnológica todavía las nenas jueguen con las muñecas.

20211230_184220.jpg

20211227_181934.jpg

As some colors were very dark, I separated them to think later what to do, and looking on the internet I discovered how to make patchwork quilts with scraps, so I got to work: I cut the pieces of the same width but different length, I cooked them in long strips that I then cooked on an old sheet. Then with another cloth I made a large strip of the same width and made a border.

Como algunos colores eran muy oscuros, los separé para pensar mas adelante que hacer, y mirando en internet descubrí como hacer colchas tipo patchwork con retazos, así que puse manos a la obra: corté los retazos del mismo ancho pero distinto largo, los cocí en tiras largas que luego cocí sobre una sábana vieja. Luego con otra tela hice una gran tira del mismo ancho y le hice un borde.

colcha.jpg

colcha2.jpg

colcha3.jpg

Already the passion for recycling fabrics was part of my being, so I began to gather fabrics, not only from my work, but also clothes that I no longer used and that I could not donate but I could recycle. I continued researching on the internet and discovered how to make totora or trapillo with fabrics, so I discovered another vein because I could also weave with fabrics ... and the fabric opens up endless ideas for you.

Ya la pasión por reciclar telas era parte de mi ser, así que comencé a juntar telas, no solo de mi trabajo, sino también ropa que ya no usaba y que tampoco podía donarla pero si reciclarla. Seguí investigando en internet y descubrí como hacer totora o trapillo con telas, así que le descubrí otra veta porque podía tejer también con telas… y el tejido te abre un sinfín de ideas.

felpudo.jpg

felpudo2.jpg

felpudo3.jpg

Currently I consider myself a fabric accumulator, every so often, I open a bag, make quilts, shorts, t-shirts, whatever comes out and take them to Caritas because I am sure that someone will be served.

Actualmente me considero una acumuladora de telas, cada tanto, abro una bolsa, hago colchas, shorts, remeras, lo que salga y los llevo a Caritas porque estoy segura de que a alguien le va a servir.

It really is a rewarding passion, to get something that would be thrown away to become something productive and usable.
Of course if anyone wants the detail of how this is done, in my blog there are publications that explain the step by step ... or they ask me.

Realmente es una pasión gratificante, lograr que algo que se tiraría se transforme en algo productivo y usable.
Desde ya si alguien quiere el detalle de como se hace esto, en mi blog hay publicaciones que explican el paso a paso… o me preguntan.

Big greetings and thank you for reading this post.

Un saludo grande y 

yo.jpg
gracias por leer este post.