Garden Journal: Removing some Wild Grasses and Weeds; Fighting Out some Insects and Fungi

in HiveGarden13 days ago

Greetings!

Summer is now in the second half here in our country. That means that rain will start to come in the later part of May. That said, I am now removing some wild grasses and weeds in some parts of my vegetable garden. I have to start pulling them now since leaving them until the rain starts will only make them grow faster and it will be harder to uproot them.

Check the before and after comparison of the cleaning that I have done.

Before After

Using a shovel to remove the wild grasses and weeds

In removing will grasses and wees I have to use a shovel. I had to use a shovel because the small wild grasses and weeds were surprisingly hard to uproot by hand maybe because of the sandy soil. Sandy soil seems to be making any type of wild grass and weeds to uproot by hand. Although my little vegetable garden is sitting on clay soil the sand was put in by the former owner of the land plot where my vegetable garden is now located.

As you can see on the gif above and below there are eggplants. Those eggplants were planted last year. If I am not mistaken I planted them last August of 2023. I am still watering them every day because of the very hot weather brought by the summer season and I am glad that they are continuing to produce fruits as of this writing.

Dealing with insects and fungi

I consider myself a beginner when it comes to vegetable gardening. Since I started gardening last 2021 I occasionally encountered insect and fungi problems on my crops. Most of the time those encounters are my first time like the ones that I encountered on my Papaya and chili.

In the case of my Papaya, the old leaves seem to dry up abnormally. At first, I thought it was just normal but then I got curious and checked the drying leaves. To my surprise, small insects were thriving underneath the drying leaves. I have no choice but to use insecticides.

Check out the drying leaves of my Papaya below. Underneath those leaves where very small insects thriving underneath them.


In the case of my Chili, I think some fungi are attacking the leaves. You can see on an image of the leaf below, that parts of the leaf are starting to turn yellow. As of the moment of this writing, I am still trying to find out what is happening on the leaves of my Chilis. I just hope that it is not fungi but only the effect of very hot weather.


That is all for now guys, catch you up with the next one. Wishing you all safety, good health, and abundance.


Thank you very much to all of the Hive Ecosystem Curation Teams/Individuals, I am very grateful for the upvotes/curation/support. God bless you all!


I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, and farming (rice/vegetables), and I have two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Copyright © 2024 @afterglow. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

Congratulations @afterglow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 120000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 130000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge
 12 days ago  

Thank you @hivebuzz

That's great @afterglow! We're excited to see your accomplishments on Hive! We'll continue to support you to achieve your next goals!

 12 days ago  

Thank you very much @hivebuzz

Is this the effect of fungus or due to lack of water?

NTy4GV6ooFRmaCXZ8UYgPhoud1kjiNX8QokLEZtbBKLuLWQ9yt7K3o4C33D1QsM9wpvYq5q7bbnk47rqv8vdWVRhX1Kcm3G3o7PngH2mgX4omXFvskcAm8oNkZGMWuTtAcisC7t4c8GdN73UZuwMou4R7HgDQ1GeVHnxjCyC.jpeg

 12 days ago  

I am not sure, but I am watering it every day. It is summer now here in our region, the temperature can go as high as 38 degrees celsius.