Garden Journal: Transplanting Macapuno

in HiveGarden2 months ago

Greetings!

I was surprised when one of my cousins who is living in a far province suddenly paid a visit and to my surprise, he brought with him some Macapuno seedlings that are ready to be planted in their permanent location. Macapuno is a variant of the coconut tree where the fruit contains almost 100% meat. It is very delicious to eat especially when made as a juice. Below is a photo of the Macapuno that my cousin has given me.

This is a Macapuno coconut seedling given to me by one of my cousins from Antipolo City, Philippines

I have a hard time where to plant the seedlings because I don't want to plant any fruit-bearing tree in front of our house because of an old tradition about luck. With that being said, I did not plant it near our house. The location that I found is near my little Calamansi/Calamondin plantation. There I put it on the west side of the plantation hoping that it would thrive and bear fruit. I do not know how long it will take to grow and to bear fruit but once it starts to bear it will be a lifetime.

To plant the Macapuno seedling I have to dig a hole first as deep as the seedling's body. Summer is just started here in our country. As shown in the gif image below the soil looks very dry. It is a good thing that I have a customized pickaxe

Digging a hole to plant the Macapuno seedling using a homemade hoe

After I dug a hole I immediately transplanted the seedling. As you can see in the gif image below the body of the seedling seems a little dry. I am hoping that it will survive the summer and grow as fast as possible.

Putting the Macapuno seedling into the hole

After I put the seedling to the I added some soil carefully so as not to damage the roots and then I watered it adequately to help it cope with the transplanting shock.

I watered it abundantly so that it won't have a hard time recovering from transplanting shock


That is all for now guys, catch you up with the next one. Wishing you all safety, good health, and abundance.


Thank you very much to all of the Hive Ecosystem Curation Teams/Individuals, I am very grateful for the upvotes/curation/support. God bless you all!


I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, and farming (rice/vegetables), and I have two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Copyright © 2024 @afterglow. All Rights Reserved.