Garden Journal: Transplanting Tomatoes (in anticipation of the coming rainy season)

in HiveGarden22 days ago

Greetings!


Hello gardeners! Today I am happy to share to the community my third batch of tomatoes that I just transplanted. Tomatoes are one of the easiest crops to grow and take care of. Aside from that tomatoes have many uses, it is uses considered one of the fast-moving vegetables in the kitchen because of their versatility and wide array of uses.

I am hoping that they will thrive well because it is still summer here in our country with temperatures that can reach up to 42 degrees Celsius (107.6 Fahrenheit). My main goal in planting tomatoes is to have tomato sustainability in our kitchen. Last month a kilo of tomato went up a staggering 150 pesos per kilo ($2.6 USD)

Tomato is also one of my all-time favorites which is why I am very persistent in planting them. All you have to do is take care of them and water them when it is needed. With a little bit of fertilizer, they can produce enough tomatoes for your kitchen in their lifetime.

My style of transplanting tomatoes

Last 2021 I germinated and transplanted my first ever tomato crops. 2021 is also the year when I first started gardening. With that being said, 2021 is the year of experimentation for me when it comes to vegetable gardening. The first time that I experimented on vegetables was on tomatoes. By the way here's a blog where I showed the technique for germinating tomato seeds, check this blog: Planting Tomatoes in a Pot - One of the Most Popular Ways to Plant Tomatoes.

In transplanting the tomato crops I first wet the soil so that I can easily uproot them, check out the gif image below.

Uprooting the tomato seedlings

Then I will separate them all and put some soil on their roots (on each of them).

Separating the seedlings one by one

After separating them I will put some soil on their roots.

Putting some soil on their roots

After I put some soil on their roots I will immediately transplant them to their permanent location.

Planting the tomatoes

In transplanting the tomatoes I buried them about an inch into the soil.

**

Then I water them adequately.

And it is done.


That is all for now guys, catch you up with the next one. Wishing you all safety, good health, and abundance.


Thank you very much to all of the Hive Ecosystem Curation Teams/Individuals, I am very grateful for the upvotes/curation/support. God bless you all!


I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, and farming (rice/vegetables), and I have two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Copyright © 2024 @afterglow. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

@tipu curate 👍🏾

 22 days ago  

Thank you @kgakakillerg

Welcome 👊🏾

It's interesting to see how the same plant grown in a different way. Since we have quite long winter in Germany, tomatoes must stay indoor quite long. Thank you for sharing how you do, @afterglow !

 22 days ago  

You're welcome, how do you make tomatoes bear fruits when they are indoor? What about the sunlight?