Garden Journal: Weeding Out my Calamansi; First Mustard Greens Harvest; Updates on my other Vegetables, and a Short Video Tour on my Garden

in HiveGarden9 months ago (edited)

Greetings!

Yesterday afternoon before it rained I went to my Calamansi garden and weed the surrounding of each Calamansi. I did this so that the weeds would not compete with my Calamansi on the soil's nutrients. I am quite surprised that pulling out the weeds is surprisingly very easy (maybe the weeds are still small and their roots are still in a shallow layer of the soil).

Weeding out calamansi

20231014_164630_1.gif

Below is the comparison of one of my Calamansi before and after weeding it out.

Before After

First Mustard Greens harvest

One of the vegetables that I am excited about is mustard green. I am excited because this will be the first time that I am going to plant mustard green. I am glad that it ended up well and I got a lot of mustard green growing slowly and healthily. I am very glad while harvesting my first mustard greens I wish that it would be the beginning of good mustard farming for me.

20231018_081914_1.gif

Here is the photo of the mustard green that I harvested. I harvested mustard greens because my wife is going to cook a dish called "Sinigang".

20231018_082437.jpg

Cassava update

Another one that I am very excited about is my Cassava. I love cassava when made into Cassava Cake, Pichi-pichi, Nilupak, and Suman. Also, the leaves of the Cassava can be cooked into a very delicious dish called "Laing". But I have to wait 10-14 months before I can harvest the root crop of the Cassava. In the case of Laing, if there are already enough amount of leaves I can now harvest some and cook Laing. Check out the comparison below.

October 3, 2023 October 21, 2023

Lone tomato

If you happen to check my blog where I blogged about a lone tomato in my garden. Here is it now. At the moment of this writing, this is the only tomato that is ripe all other tomatoes are green and are still growing. Check out the comparison below.

September 23, 2023 October 21, 2023

Lone eggplant

My garden likes to have lone vegetables. In the case of my eggplant, there is a lone eggplant in my garden right now. All other eggplants are still less than an inch in length and most are still flowering.

20231021_100516.jpg

Bottle Gourd third batch fruits

Of all the vegetables that I planted this year, last May this year, if my memory serves me right, the Bottle Gourd is the one that is still producing fruit. I actually planted five Bottle Gourds, the other four already died, and there is only one left that is still bearing fruits.

20231021_100708.jpg

Moringa update

Another one of my vegetables that makes me happy is my Moringa and it is because all of them are starting to develop leaves now. But there is one that is quite very fast to grow (maybe its location is very fertile). Check out the before and after comparison of my Moringa below.

September 18, 2023 October 21, 2023

Tomatoes and Chilis updated

And last but not least, here are the images for my Tomatoes and Chilis as of today. These tomatoes are planted at the same time as the one tomato that is already ripe (which I discussed above).

20231021_101039.jpg

VideoCapture_20231021-135635.jpg

20231021_101219.jpg

A short video tour


That is all for now guys, catch you up with the next one. Wishing you all safety, good health, and abundance.

Thank you very much to all of the Hive Ecosystem Curation Teams/Individuals, I am very grateful for the upvotes/curation/support. God bless you all!

I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, and farming (rice/vegetables), and I have two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Copyright © 2023 @afterglow. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  
 9 months ago  

I am about to start planting Calamansi seeds that will hopefully survive here in the middle east.

Good luck.

It is better to remove weeds when it's small. Looks like you take good care of your garden. keep it up!

Thank you for the support @diyhub

Yes, it is better to removed the weeds when it is small.

wow ang dami mong pananim kabayan

Thank you kabayan. Kailanga magtanim para may kainin. Hehe.

Wow, congrats kabayan! Ang dami nang bunga sa mga tinanim mo, no need to purchase some veggies in the market.

Yes, thank you kabayan, no need to purchase some veggies. Sana mapadami ko pa.

Kapag naka-start kana nakaka-addict nang magtanim 😁

Oo, hehe. 😁

Congratulations @afterglow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 13000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 13500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

 9 months ago  

It is nice to see that your garden is producing well for you.