Preparing our Mango Trees for the Mango Season

in HiveGardenlast year

mango.png

Greetings!

Summer is fast approaching and summer is usually associated with fruits that grow every summer season. One example is Mango. Here in our country, the official start of the Mango season is March. But here in our province, our Mango season starts one month earlier. It is basically February now so we are one month early into the Mango season. We got seven mango trees that I am taking care of right now. One of them is my favorite since its fruit is very meaty and very very sweet when ripe. The variety of mango that I am talking about is MANGGANG KALABAW or CARABAO MANGO. This mango's fruit is very sour and very crunchy when not ripe and is very very sweet when ripe. Below is a gif image of the mango to that I am going to apply insecticide.

The mango tree that I am going to apply insecticide
20230130_102222_1.gif

Ten years ago the farmers here in our town used manual sprayers now almost everybody uses rechargeable sprayers and the sprayer that I am going to use is also a rechargeable sprayer (see image below). Rechargeable sprayers are very easy to use since you will not be the one in charge of pumping.

The Sprayer

The sprayer that I am going to use to apply the insecticide
20230130_071222.jpg

The Insecticide

The insecticide that I am going to use it in a 5 EC (emulsified concrete) form. Cypermethrin is its active ingredient. It contains inerts such as emulsifiers and solvent (Xylene) It can kill Leafhoppers, Twig Borer, Tip Borer, and fruitflies. The label recommends 10 ml (1 tbsp) per 16 liters of water or one knapsack sprayer. It is an Emulsified Concentrate insecticide hence the label 5 EC (Emulsified Concentrate).

The insecticide that I am going to apply on our mango tree

20230130_071726.jpg

Pouring the Insecticide

Since 10 ml is equivalent to one tablespoon I am just going to pour it and estimate it. You can actually use a tablespoon if needed. But most of us knew how much a tablespoon is so I am just going to pour it without using a tablespoon.

Pouring insecticide into the 16-liter capacity sprayer
20230130_105337_1.gif

Putting 16 Liters of Water into the Sprayer

In putting water into the sprayer make sure not to spill the combined water and the insecticide because it is highly toxic.

Pouring water into the sprayer
20230130_105728_1.gif

Spraying the Insecticide

I actually made a mistake in applying the sprayer, did you notice? I am not wearing protective gear, not even hand gloves. But it is a good thing that the strong wind is blowing the insecticide far away from me. Learn from my mistake, do not apply insecticide without any protective gear.

Spraying the insecticide
20230130_110622_1.gif

That is all for now guys, catch you up with the next one. Wishing you all safety, good health, and abundance.

I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, and farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Copyright © 2022 @afterglow. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

The mango blossom started early in the first week of January here, but the climate seems to be ruining the summer mango crop. It has been rainy and cold, which has led to an increase in antracnose. It's a good thing that you prevented it sir @afterglow

 last year (edited) 

Same here, it is January, I am lucky that those two mango trees don't have any problems with the blossoms.

Pabili kabayan kung makakaharvest kana. Ready na talaga. Hehe
Ang sipag naman.

 last year  

Ay sige kabayan, puwede kita bentahan...

Hahaha... Sana malapit lang sa inyo. 😂

 last year  

Yun ang problema kabayan, malayo, hehe.

Mango is my favorite fruit. All variety of it! I am so glad I am from this country where this fruit is growing and producing the best mangoes in the world.

 last year  

Indeed, may mga foreigner na gustong-gusto ang mangga pero hind sila makapagtanim.

yes, kabayan! Pero mas swerte kasi tanim nyo pa!

 last year  

Ay, oo kabayan, tama ka dyan, noong nakaraan nasa 4-5 ba batya ang inana ko dyan noong nakaraan, pinahinog ko lahat, sobrang tamis.

I like mango. Unfortunately our climate didn’t suitable for it

 last year  

Sorry, to hear that, and yes Mango is a tropical fruit which does not like cold weather, but you can still enjoy mangoes by buying them. Greetings from the Philippines!