Transplanting Coconut Seedling on my Garden Extension Outside our House | Harvesting of Young Coconut Fruit (Epic Fail)

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Coconut.png

Greetings!

Since I can't still do anything in my garden that is still wet and muddy I deiced to plant two coconut seedlings on my vegetable garden extension outside our house. This garden extension is still untouched but there are some trees planted in it. It is located right in front of our house. My two coconut seedlings are ready for transplanting so I took them and transplanted them. I actually cannot plant any tall growing trees inside my vegetable garden because they will cover the sunlight that is crucial for the vegetables that I am going to plant. Below are two coconut seedlings that I am going to plant.

The coconut seedlings that I am going to plant

20220915_084352.jpg

Also, I am going to be needing a fence that will protect them from animals such as goats. Here in our town, there are lots of goats roaming around when the rice farming season has ended. The fence doesn't need to be very huge and very tall, it just has to be able to protect the leaves of the coconut seedlings because goats are huge eaters of any leaves that they wanted. Below is one of the fences that I am going to use. It is actually a used fence that I refurbished to be used on my coconut seedlings. This fence was formerly used on my magic fruit inside my vegetable garden. I made it using bamboo last year.

One of the used fence that I am going to use to secure the coconut seedlings

20220915_084512.jpg

Digging the hole

This is actually my first time planting a coconut seedling. Some of my relatives told me that planting a coconut seedling doesn't need a deep hole or the coconut shell does not need to be buried completely under the soil. Also, they told me that I should plant the coconut seedling a little bit slanted. As can be seen in the given images below I dug a shallow hole with my shovel. It is deep enough that some part of the coconut shell is above the ground.

20220915_085020_2.gif

Planting the coconut seedlings

Planting the coconut seedling is actually very very easy, I just dug a shallow hole the size of the shell of the coconut seedling itself and put it in the hole, and voila I just need to cover it with some soil and it is done. These seedlings are actually offsprings of my coconut trees just beside ours. Later on in this blog, you will see the trees where I harvested them last year. I actually harvested these coconut fruits very late. And with that being said, instead of getting young coconut fruit, I got a coconut that is perfect for making coconut milk. I actually used some of them on some of the dishes that I cooked and then let these two seedlings germinate.

20220915_085020_3.gif

below is a short video of me planting the coconut seedlings on my vegetables garden's extension

Done planting coconut seedlings

After I dug two shallow holes I immediately punt the seedlings into the (as can be seen in the two photos below). In the first photo, the upper part of the selling is exposed as advised by one of my relatives. This is not how I planted our coconut trees inside beside our house because the solid is always dry all year long. But this location where I planted the seedlings are mostly wet especially during the rainy season so I think it is really beneficial for the seedlings to be planted in this way (the upper is exposed).

20220915_090217.jpg

Harvesting of Young Coconut (Epic Fail)

A few days ago, I and my wife noticed that the fruits of our coconut trees are already big enough for harvest (as we thought). So, I took a hook and harvested the two coconut fruits that we saw. As can be seen in the gif image below I am harvesting one of the coconut fruits using the metal hook.

20220828_141919_1.gif

And below is the gif image of me while I am harvesting the second coconut fruit from the adjacent coconut tree. This one is smaller than the second one. After I saw this second coconut fruit I immediately knew that this fruit is still very young for harvest (which proves correct).

20220828_142203_1.gif

Below is a gif image of me while I am showing my wife the first coconut fruit that I harvested. While I am playing it in my hand I am pretty sure that the first fruit that I harvested contains some young coconut meat and I am pretty sure that the second one doesn't because it is still very young.

20220828_142238_1.gif

And here they are side-by-side, on top is the first that I harvested and the bottom is the second one which is still very young.

The moment of truth

And now time to peel open the coconut. I was so excited to open the first coconut fruit because this will be the first time that I am going to eat coconut meat from my coconut tree. Using a bolo I carefully cut open the top of the fruit so that we can get the coconut juice first before cutting it open.

20220828_143912_1.gif

After cutting open the top of the fruit I took a pitcher and then put the coconut juice in it, oh boy, the juice is sweet and delicious and is very very very fresh right from the three.

20220828_143912_2.gif

Then I cut it open...

20220828_143912_3.gif

And to my dismay it does have any coconut meat, I am so disappointed, haha, my harvest is an epic fail but there are still more fruits left so I took this as a learning process in harvesting a coconut fruit.

20220828_143912_4.gif

In the image below, look at the spoon, that's the only coconut meat that I got from the first coconut fruit. The second one is much younger so it also doesn't have any meat, but I still cut it open to get the juice.

VideoCapture_20220916-155640.jpg

Below are the two short videos of me while I am harvesting the coconut fruits and cutting them open

That is all for now guys, catch you up with the next one. Wishing you all safety, good health, and abundance.

I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Copyright © 2022 @afterglow. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jhero22 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 2 years ago  

Thank you @jhero22

Coconut juice lang akin hehe.. Madami kyo tanim na niyog? Namiss ko amin sa farm

 2 years ago (edited) 

Gusto ko both, apan na puno lang ang tanim namin, two in each side of our house. Pero nagtanim ulit ako kahapon ng two pa sa garden extension ko sa labas ng bahay. Thank you for the reblog @jane1289

Naku masyado pa palang mura haha pero okay lang Kasi may sabaw Naman nakuha.

 2 years ago  

Ay oo, hahaha! EPIC FAIL talaga, akala ko meron na, wala pa pala, noon kasi nakaraan niyog naman ang na-harvest namin imbes na buko, hahaha!

Naku hahaha. Yung iba Ang galing nila tumancha kung pede na ba Yung buko e . May sinasabi pa silang malauhog. Baka Yun Yung napitas nyo

 2 years ago  

Ay oo, ang gagaling nga ng iba, hehehe, hindi din sya malauhog, isang kutsara nga lang nakuha ko, ahehe!

Six to Seven years from today, you will harvest fruits from that newly planted tree. It takes time, so lets plant today for the future.
Sayang naman, bata pa ang buko. Better luck next time.

 2 years ago  

Oo nga kabayan, sayang, di kasi ak marunong tuningin ng tamang edad ng buko, noon naman nakaraan niyog naman ang na-harvest ko, hehe.

Coconut trees are indeed very useful in the future, but in the long term.
But I think if you cultivate these trees there should be a special garden for them, because as you said, if this coconut tree grows between plants or vegetables then that is a big obstacle, because it will cover the sun's rays.
Good post and I think it's perfect, because the completeness of what you want to say, is extraordinary.

 2 years ago  

@xoxois thank you for stopping by and leaving a thoughtful comment. Good morning and have a nice day ahead. And yes coconuts are very useful in the future.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

you need more time to get beautiful coconut flesh inside :)

 2 years ago  

You are right (^_^) I should have waited for more days.

Fresh coconut talaga is the best. We have two coconut trees in our backyard. Nakakakuha kami ng coconut lagi hehe. Yun nga lang dapat nalayo kami baka kasi biglang bumagsag yung coconut.

 2 years ago  

Ay oo, dapat nasa malayo lagi, delikado mabagsakan ng coconut. hehe.

May itinanim din kaming mga coconut seedlings Yung dwarf pero parang paborito ng aming kambing kainin ang mga ito. Sa susunod we will make tree guard nalang Para iwas sa mga kanding Gaya ng sa inyo.

 2 years ago  

Yes, need ng tree guard para di makain (^_^)

so cool! but why are your coconuts different from those that are sold here in Russia?:)
we have only these ones

whY?:)

 2 years ago  

This photo that you showed me doesn't have the thick "coconut husk". Before selling the coconut fruit to buyers/exporters the coconut farmers would remove the "coconut husk". After the coconut husk is removed it will dry up and when it dried up you'll get a brown coconut like the one in the photo that you showed me.

This one that you showed me is the same as the one that I showed in this blog. The only difference is that what I showed here is a "Young Coconut Fruit" which we colloquially called "Buko", and yours is a "Mature Coconut Fruit" without the coconut husk which we colloquially call "Niyog".

I hope I answered your question (^_^)

Good morning and have a nice day ahead.