My winter gardening log / 冬のガーデニング記録

in HiveGarden8 months ago (edited)

In Leipzig, Eastern Germany, where I live, we continue to experience snowy days where the temperature stays below zero. It seems that these cold days are persisting throughout Germany, with some areas even experiencing train service disruptions.

Amidst this, witnessing how plants live their lives at their own slow pace, I felt like posting on Hive Garden on Sundays, a practice I used to follow every week during the summer.

I have some plants in my office I brought from my home due to lack of the space (you can imagine it as a gardener!). Last month, I was unable to visit my office for nearly two weeks, and I thought I had lost my chili peppers and figs to neglect, but...

The chili plant were sprouting new leaves. I'm glad I didn't give up and kept an eye on it.

This chili plant, which I started growing late in this summer after getting seeds from my friends' kitchen. I am so glad that it seems to be reviving. Chili peppers are actually perennials and can be grown like trees.

The fig in the photo below has dropped its leaves, but the small buds on the stems don't seem completely dried out, so hopefully, it's just normal winter leaf drop. I'll keep eyes on it.

Snow has also been blowing onto my micro balcony, lightly covering the pots. The other day, wanting to add rosemary to a lemon pound cake, I checked to see if any had survived, and it had.

The rosemary, I bought from a local young organic farmer, must be a wild strong one grown up without chemicals. Gratefully, I picked some leaves and added them to my pound cake.

Even though some leaves were frostbitten, the plants are alive in their ways. Observing their strength and beauty, I took photos on my balcony after weeks. It was so nice to be back here with my camera!

The containers in the community garden, being without a roof, were completely covered with snow. But that's how nature is. Instead of shoveling the snow away, I decided to let the bulbs planted in the end of autumn sleep well until spring.

Still it's the midst of winter, but next month in January, it's already time to choose seeds for the next season, and in February, I'll start planting seedlings. I'm already excited for the next season.

Have a great Sunday! To those in the Southern Hemisphere, enjoy your gardening season 😊

~~~

私が住むドイツ東部のライプツィヒでは日中でも気温がマイナスの日が続いています。ドイツ全土で寒い日が続いているようで、中には鉄道が止まってしまっているエリアもあるようです。

そんな中でも植物たちはゆっくりゆっくり、それぞれの時間を生きているのを目の当たりにして、夏は毎週投稿していた日曜日にHive Gardenに投稿したくなりました。

私は自宅に収まりきらない植物の一部をオフィスに持って行っています。先月、2週間弱オフィスにいけない時期があり、唐辛子とイチヂクを枯らしてしまたったと思ったら・・・

唐辛子の茎から新芽が出ていました。あきらめずに様子を見てよかったです。

この唐辛子は、夏の終わりに友人のキッチンで種をもらって育て始めた遅まきの唐辛子で、復活しそうでうれしいです。唐辛子は、実は多年草で、木のように育てられるんですよ。下の写真の左の葉を落としてしまったイチヂクは、節にある芽は乾き切っていないようなので、普通の冬の落葉だといいのですが・・・。見守ることにします。

自宅のバルコニーにも雪が吹きつけて、軽く鉢につもっています。先日レモンのパウンドケーキに入れたくて、だめ元でローズマリーがないか見てみたら、生きていました。

地元の若手のオーガニック農家から買ったワイルドな苗で元気なのかもしれません。ありがたく葉っぱをもらって、パウンドケーキに入れました。

よくよく見てみると、葉っぱがところどころ凍ったりしていても、あれこれ生きています。植物って強くて美しいなあと思い、久しぶりにバルコニーで写真を撮りました。

コミュニティガーデンのコンテナは、屋根がないのですっかり雪でもこもこでした。でも、自然だったらこうですもんね。無理に雪かきせず、秋の終わりに植えた球根たちには春までよく眠ってもらうことにしましょう。

冬真っ只中ですが、もう来月1月には次のシーズンの種選び、2月には苗づくりが始まります。一番苦手な11月を乗り切って、はやくも次のシーズンを楽しみにうきうきしています。

それではよい日曜日を!南半球のみなさんはガーデニングシーズンを楽しんでくださいね 😊

Sort:  

うおお寒そうです・・・!もうこんなに雪が降っているなんて!
今日次男の自転車の練習に付き合って公園に行ってきましたが、まだ花壇にビオラ?パンジー?が咲いていました。このところ寒い寒いと思っていましたが、日本はあったかいんですね😿

今年は例年になく、雪が早かったんですよ。日本は暖かいです!あと、この時期日差しがあるのうらやましいです。もし寒さがきつくなったらダウンベストおすすめです。私はブラックフライデーで買って家の中でももこもこ来ています😁

Rosemary pound cake sounds so good.

Yes, it is! A bit more like summer taste but I enjoyed it a lot. I wonder why citrus season is winter while I feel their refreshing tastes fit more to summer (personally) :)

I guess they feel cooking and refreshing in the summer, and warm and summer like in the winter. 😊

Well explained, @boxcarblue :)

ひゃー!写真を見ているだけで寒さが伝わってきます。
私の住んでいる名古屋は、最高気温でも10℃いかないくらいには寒くなりましたが、それでも暖かいですよね。
植物の逞しさと美しさに感動の写真がたくさん。
これだけ寒くても頑張れるなら、私も諦めていたベランダ菜園を再開しようかと勇気づけられています。
日当たりが悪い方のベランダにこの冬は植物を植えてみようか…考え始めました。

今年の日本は「暖冬」の予報となっています。
それでも寒さを感じるとすぐに暖房をつけようとしてしまうので、それ以外の方法で体を温めています。
(先日の電熱グッズやダウンベストを着ています)

名古屋、暖かいですね 😁

私があいさんだったら日照量が少なくても大丈夫なお花など植えてしまうと思います。冬場は、水やりの手間が少ないので思った以上に楽ですよ。

ダウンベストいいですよね。ピラティスとの組み合わせで、今年は手足の冷えがほとんどなくなりびっくりしています。

ぬくぬく元気に冬を乗り切りましょう!

コメントをして、ふとあいさんがご近所さんだったら、一緒にイグルー作ってキャンプしたら楽しそうだななんて思いました 😊

ホント、あきぽんさんがご近所だったら
「作った野菜をキャンプで調理して食べる」という私の本来の希望の方も、どんどん実現するモチベーションがもっと高まりそうです。

昨年は、3月から6月までなんと3ヶ月間も、住んでいるマンションの外回りのメンテナンスがありまして、ベランダには一切ものを置けなかったんです。
ベランダや外廊下や外壁の修復があって、ずっと足場とネットに囲まれていました。
今年はそういうのもないので、年が明けたらタネから苗を作ろうと思います。

ひゃーーーなんと、ガーデニングのコアシーズンに!来年は一緒にガーデニングシーズンを楽しみましょう😊