Early Spring Garden, The Snow Finally Melted

in HiveGardenlast year

Hellow, hivers and garden lovers!

It's technically spring here where I live, but it's not very warm yet. The snow cover finally melted, so I can at least see my garden now. We had a warm spell last week, it got warmer than usual for this time of year, so I took some pictures of the garden. In the past few days, the weather has gone back to about normal for mid April here, and it snowed a bit overnight, pretty typical for here.

Here's a look at the garden from last week, starting with the side garden where I had my tomato plants last year. I cleaned it out and mulched it with shredded maple leaves last fall. There was still a bit of the snow pile left on it when I took the picture.

IMG_20230412_123328086.jpg

This is the main garden, looking from the end of the garden. There was still a big snow pile from shoveling the path over the winter.

IMG_20230412_123343843.jpg

This is the compost heap. I've been putting the kitchen scraps in it all winter.

IMG_20230412_123431347.jpg

My container garden is still a bit of a mess. It's mostly just last year's marigold plants that need to be cleaned up from the raised bed, I cleaned out the big pots last fall.

IMG_20230412_123355980.jpg

Here's a look at my raised beds with my railroad tracks next to them. There's some strawberry plants in the end sctrion closest to the camera, they're getting green already.

IMG_20230412_123456490.jpg

I also have a couple pictures of my plots at the community garden. The first picture is of the double plot. It's pretty much ready to be planted when the time comes.

IMG_20230412_164319244.jpg

The single plot still needs to be cleaned out, I was unable to finish that last fall before the ground froze.

IMG_20230412_164335634.jpg

In this area, gardens are normally planted at the end of May, so I still have plenty of time to finish cleaning up the single plot to get it ready for planting. Hopefully the weather will warm up a bit next week so I can get back to the community garden to finish the clean up.

That's all I have for this garden post, I hope you found it interesting!

hive garden banner.png

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  
 last year  

Here in Upstate in NY its pretty much the same story, we had great weather last week, warm and sunny, but it went back to cold and gloomy this week.
We have been starting seeds inside hoping to get a jump on things.

You have reminded me of the train set up you have and it always makes me smile.
Happy gardening @amberyooper

 last year  

Thanks for the reply!
Yeah, the weather still sucks here...
I'm late getting my tomato seeds started this year, I'm just now getting to it. Hopefully, the heat mat under the seed starter tray will speed up the germination of the seeds.
I do enjoy my train tracks... 😀

 last year  

We just out our seeds started this week, same deal, hoping the heat maps can help us catch up with germination. The weather here was just awesome, warm and sunny, let's hope it sticks around.

Lol that first photo; All your snow is gone and your neighbours still have 2 feet. I know it's probably just that their yard catches more shade, but my first thought was "Sir, have you been putting your snow on your neighbours lawn?" 😅

 last year  

LOL
Yes, that side of the street is the shady side, our side of the street gets the sun.

Yuhh it's that great fillings when show already melted and new season already started! Here in my region snow also melted already now. Hope new season will be productive enough for you!

 last year  

Thanks for the reply!

Aren't we all so late somehow for this season? Haha but hey this year expect miracles 🌞🙏 Looking forward to see how it goes!