Garden Journal, End of Season Garden Work.

in HiveGarden7 months ago

Hello, gardeners and hivers!

I was going to write this post yesterday, but the internet was not cooperating, so it had to wait until today. I realized that I hadn't written a post in more than 2 weeks so I figured it was about time to write another one.

I started tearing out the tomato plants in the greenhouse, they're done for the season. There was still some green tomatoes on the plants, but I didn't want to wait until they got ripe, so they went out with the plants. As usual, I didn't think to take a picture until I was well into the process.

DSCN0169.JPG

DSCN0170.JPG

The tomato plants in the raised bed still had a lot of tomatoes on them, but the blight had gotten to them and they were no good. I still haven't gotten these plants removed, but I need to do it soon.

DSCN0171.JPG

My straw bale garden was a partial success this year. It probably would have been better if I had watered it more than I did. It's harder to keep the straw bale plants properly watered because there's so much evaporation area on the bales as compared to other methods. They require a lot of water. Still, I did manage to get some nice tomatoes from the plants.

DSCN0173.JPG

I decided to tear out the plants and move the straw bales because I'm going to need the space for the fall and winter to park my little travel trailer.

DSCN0177.JPG

I put the remains of the straw bales in the compost pile.

DSCN0178.JPG

I have 2 sections of raised beds planted with carrots this year. They seem to be doing well enough this year. I don't plan to harvest them until after we get a hard frost, I want them to grow for as long as possible.

DSCN0175.JPG

The strawberry plants are trying to take over this bed.

DSCN0176.JPG

One more picture, my marigolds are doing really well this year. They've been blooming like this for several weeks. They'll stay like this until the frost kills the plants. Marigold plants produce an immense amount of seeds so they're self seeding every year. I haven't had to replant this bed for 3 years, they just come back from the seeds. Also, they spread if you let them. They managed to spread into the old strawberry bed this year.

DSCN0174.JPG

That's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

amber_yooper.png

hive garden banner.png

Sort:  

Of all the tomatoes I have seen, yours is the most abundant. It seems that this symbolizes your hard work in nurturing them. They're pretty impressive.

It seems that your tomatoes gave you abundant fruits in their lifetime. I wish my tomatoes will also game abundant fruits.

Your tomatoes looks so big and healthy. I have never seen tomatoes this big. Did you use manure?

I didn't use manure for the tomatoes this year. I mostly used leaf mulch on the garden, and a bit of tomato fertilizer.

Wow!! This is Interesting to note. They produced perfectly well. Weldon

 7 months ago  

Have you noticed strange weather patterns? Is that what's responsible for your blight? I seem to have missed a lot of the development of your garden this year, and it's already at the end! Interesting about the straw bale method - I've never tried it before! I definitely won't use it if there's a lot of evaporation.

Our weather has been a bit unusual if you look at the averages, but it's mostly just a bit warmer than average.
As for the blight, my tomatoes get it every year, I think it's in the ground.
The reason that you missed my garden posts this summer is because I didn't write any posts for most of the summer.

Good to see a post about your garden! I've missed your posts this year.

My marigolds did very well this year too. But they don't reseed due to the hay mulch.

Yes, I would imagine that the seeds can't make it through the hay to germinate.

Hello amberyooper!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥇 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by szejq

You and your curator receive 0.5465 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 12.40% share of the reward from Daily Report 79. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUGOLD token for taking 1st place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq