Garden Journal, Finishing Up The Garden Work

in HiveGarden7 months ago

Hello, gardeners and hivers!

A couple of days ago, I wrote a post about doing some of the fall work in the garden, basically starting the clean up process. Yesterday was a fairly nice fall day so I was able to get the rest of the garden taken care of.

I had 2 rows of potatoes left to dig up, one was red potatoes and the other was Yukon Gold potatoes. I started the day by digging up those last 2 rows.
This was the row of Yukon Gold potatoes. The harvest wasn't very big, but most of the potatoes were good sized.
If you're wondering about all the boards in the garden, I use them to block weed growth and retain ground moisture, and also, it keeps my cats from digging and pooping around the rows.

DSCN0183.JPG

DSCN0184.JPG

Then I dug up the row of red potatoes. There were a lot of potatoes, but many of them were on the small side.

DSCN0185.JPG

DSCN0186.JPG

The next job was to move the compost pile. I wanted to put it more in the middle of the garden. I had already moved it once about a month ago, but I wasn't happy with where I put it. I used some chicken wire and some cedar boards to set up the new location.

DSCN0187.JPG

Then I just had to shovel the pile to it's new location and remove the big boards from where it had been.

DSCN0188.JPG

My last job for the afternoon was removing the last of the tomato plants from the raised bed. I don't have any pictures of the process, but here's the result.

DSCN0189.JPG

I still have carrots in the garden but I'm not going to harvest them until after we get a hard frost. We still haven't gotten a killing frost yet, but it was almost cold enough last night. We may get our first real frost later in the week, and we may not.

That's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting.

hive garden banner.png

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @amberyooper! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 150000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 160000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

It looks like that job really takes a lot of energy @amberyooper. And I can see that you can handle the work easily. Great job on that and Good luck with this coming Frost season. Stay safe! 💚

You did some great jobs. Please the red potatoes is what am Longing for. Send some to me naa.

Please I have an information for you.

Please, have you heard about the hive Zealy campaign from inleo(leofinance) community, where you can easily win $250 or $350 per month from now go reach December? Please you can join the campaign through this link. And don't forget to join through your discord account.

https://zealy.io/c/hive/invite/xwR3y9yiJew2doqkYwilQ

Do well to join

Looks like you are off to a good start, I really like how you manage you garden, I am learning a lot just by reading your blogs (like the boards to block the weed growth).

Great idea with using the 2x4's. Even though that is a small harvest, that still looks like a lot of work! :)

Good to see garden posts! It's that time of year, cleaning out the gardens...