Garden Journal, Progress at the Home Garden

in HiveGarden3 years ago

Hello, hivers and gardeners!

I think it's been a couple of weeks since I wrote about my back yard garden. With all the hot weather, interspersed with rainy days, the garden has grown quite a bit. I took some pictures a couple of days ago, and I'm finally getting around to posting them.

First, here's a look at the main part of the garden. There's a lot going on in this picture. I have several rows of potato plants, some squash hiding between the potatoes and the borage, and lots of tomato plants. You can also see the tomato plants and zucchini plants in the raised bed beyond the garden. You can also see the rain water storage tank on the platform at the back corner of the garden. I use that to water parts of the garden when we haven't had rain for a few days.

DSCN5144.JPG

Let's take a closer look at the parts of the garden. First is the 3 rows of tomato plants. I have a variety of different plants in these 3 rows. The middle row is all heirloom Black Krim tomato plants. In the other 2 rows are a variety of plants such as Better Boy, Amana Orange and Blue Beech. These plants are all doing pretty well now, and most of them have at least a couple of tiny tomatoes growing on them, as well as lots of flowers.

DSCN5146.JPG

In this picture are the rows of potato plants, and my yellow summer squash plants. You can also see the big borage plants that are full of flowers now. The borage plants get huge and have lots of flowers, and the bees love them.

DSCN5148.JPG

Here's a close up of the yellow squash plants. You can see the little yellow squash starting to develop now.

Next, we have the zucchini plants, and 4 tomato plants in the low raised bed. The zucchini plants are starting to develop flowers now, so I might have a couple of small zucchinis to pick in a couple of weeks.

DSCN5149.JPG

Next are the green bean plants, with the carrots beyond them in the tall raised bed. The beans had a bug infestation a few weeks ago, but I think I got rid of them before they became too damaging. The bean plants are starting to flower now.

DSCN5150.JPG

Here's a closer look at the flowering borage plants. They're full of flowers now.

DSCN5152.JPG

A new plant for me this year is runner beans. The most common and well known variety is the scarlet runner bean, but this variety is called "Pink Lady" because it has pink flowers instead of red flowers. I planted the seeds in the middle of June because I forgot I had the seeds when I planted everything else. They're finally starting to grow now. It took them a week to come up. I need to get the trellis strung so the bean plants will have something to climb.

DSCN5153.JPG

And now for a look at the container garden. I planted bush type green beans in most of my big containers this year. I planted yellow beans in them in the past 2 years and those plants did well, so I decided to try green beans this year. I had refilled all the containers with different dirt this spring to give these beans soil that had not grown beans before. It's better for the plants that way, less bean disease possibilities. These beans are all flowering now also.

DSCN5145.JPG

At the end of the row of beans are 2 containers with cherry tomato plants in them. They're a bit spindly, the dirt in the pots probably wasn't very good. I need to feed these plants. They're flowering, and the one plant has a few tomatoes already.

DSCN5143.JPG

The raised bed behind the container garden is full of marigold plants, with a few tomato plants hiding among the marigolds. Those tomato plants are the extras that I had. I didn't want to just throw them out, so I planted them in the raised bed. I don't really expect much from them, there's too much shade in that area.
The marigolds are all from seeds that last year's plants dropped last fall. I dug some of them up and planted them among the tomato plants at the beginning of summer when I planted all the tomato plants.

DSCN5154.JPG

One more picture, a peek inside the greenhouse. I'll be writing a separate post about the greenhouse plants to give you a better view of them.

DSCN5139.JPG

That's what I have for this post, thanks for checking it out!

hive garden banner.png

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Looking good! I need to get out to the veg gardens to weed.

Wow, your garden is so amazing! Those zucchini leaves are HUGE!

Is that a water tank in the top right at the beginning with the yellow fencing around it? Did you install that just for the garden?

Your greenhouse plants are giant, too. You're going to have tomatoes for miles, it looks like!

Thank you!
Yes, that is a water tank that I installed to store rain water, and to use for the garden. We have a separate water collection tank by the house that gets filled by the rain gutters. I pump that water out to the tank at the end of the garden, that way I can store more water for when it doesn't rain for a week or 2.
I kind of over-planted tomato plants this year. My outside plants didn't produce very well last year and I ran out of canned tomatoes in about March, using one pint jar per week. I didn't want that to happen again... 😀

I used to use tomato sauce at such a fast rate, but lately not so much. I tend to go through phases where I just can't get enough of something and then it's like, okay, bored with that now. LOL

I usually make tomato sauce just to make pasta sauce. I don't really use it for anything else.

Holy cow, I guess the veggies like their home. You sure got a lot going on and everything seems to be doing great. It won't be long now before some of these veggies end up on your dinner plate. 😁
Everything looks so lush and green.
As much as I enjoy having a vegetable garden, I also enjoy the beauty and artistic side of gardening and you seem to enjoy that as well. Some of the pictures you have included in this garden post could be featured in Better Homes and Gardens.

Thank you, I appreciate that!