Come see what I'm up to in my Garden / Hive Garden Challenge.

in HiveGardenlast year (edited)

Last challenge of the year in Hive Garden Community #GardenChallenge.

Hello my Garden friends, can't believe it's already the end of the year, what's happening in your garden today? Are you getting sorted for the holidays?

Well!...my garden of just under 1 acre, has too much lawn for my liking, it's such a pain in the butt to maintain, and garden services is so expensive these days.

Don't get me wrong, I love my garden.
Omg!...maybe it's old age creeping in, and the old bones are feeling the wear and tear, Hehe!

There's so much I would like to do. When one does everything oneself with no help, it get's a bit overwhelming at times.

So!...enough of the old thing...let me take you for a walk around my garden and show you what I've been up to. lately.

to much grass.jpg

garden.jpg

We've planted quite a few "Agave" succulent plants on the side of the fence and some aloes, trying to cover as much grass as possible.

my garden.jpgBut...as one can see, still a lot of lawn.

alloe.jpg
The "Aloe" plant flowers mostly in the winter time, displaying a beautiful deep orangey, red flower.
Being summer time here in South Africa, hence the dowdy look, they're still beautiful though and have quite a lot of medicinal benefits, which I'm still learning about.
The "Aloe" is a fascinating plant with all it's medicinal qualities about it.
Well!...that's another post altogether.

alloe tree.jpg
The "Aloe Tree" is getting quite tall, we had one fall down already, hope this one stands it's ground.

cycad.jpg
The "Cycad" seems to be happy in it's spot on top of the bank in the back yard.

grass needs cut.jpg
We have a few different species of "Cycads" around the garden.

gargois.jpg
More "Agave" succulents along the fence.

lavender bush.jpg
My lavender bush is doing very well on the bank, I often make "lavender tea" from the flowers, it's very refreshing and calming.

  • Pour a cup of boiling water over two tablespoons of lavender flowers and let it draw for about five minutes, strain and drink.
    It's excellent for the nerves Lol!

lime tree.jpg
I'm thrilled with my "lime tree" which has produced fruit for the first time in ten years.
I was about to give up hope, then this year she produced a tree full of limes, made me very happy.

banana tree.jpg
The banana tree is also bearing fruit and we only planted it about a year ago.
I just hope the monkeys don't get to them first, they can be so destructive sometimes.

martin gulu.jpg
Amatugulu Plant

martin gulu fruit.jpg
The "Amatugulu" plant, a very thorny bush, bears a little berry like fruit which turns red when ripe.
The monkeys go crazy over them.
I don't mind if they eat the berries, I don't like them anyway.
My Hubby eats them from time to time, I think they have an acquired taste, sort of sour flavor...nope, not for me at all.

birds.jpg
I have a variety of different bird life in the garden, which is wonderful to watch as they bob around chirping and eating the cooked rice I put out for them.

cycad pup.jpg
A little "Cycad" pup grown from one of our 'Cycad" plants, doing very well almost ready to plant out some where in the garden.

bonzia.jpg
I had a "Bonsai" in this pot, but it died, so instead I planted little succulents in it's place. They seem to be happy there I think.

green peppers.jpg
I planted some "Green Pepper" seeds in a pot, got 1 pepper plant out of about 10 seeds.
I'm quite happy with that, I might have pulled the other seedlings out by mistake while weeding.

roses.jpg
My roses seem to be doing OK, I propagated these from pruning other rose bushes.
Planted the stems from the pruned rose bush in pots of soil, this being the result.
I'm quite chuffed with myself.😘
orchards.jpg
My tree orchards are doing very well at the moment. I find them to be fascinating plants with their beautifully formed and colorful flowers.
They just do something to my soul, one of my favorite flowers.

planters.jpg
My collection of "propagated" plants, ready to plant out in the garden some where.
Have to think where...of course to cover some lawn.😁

seeds.jpg
I started another tray of green pepper and chili trees. I'm not to sure which are chilies and which are green peppers, will have to wait and see.

tomato plants.jpg
My tomatoes are doing well alongside the mint bush, they seem to be good friends, haven't heard them complaining yet Hehe!

tree frog.jpg
Found this little fella hopping around amongst the pot plants, I think he's a tree frog.
Cute little thing.

trim tree.jpg
Hubby and son-in-law had to trim the tree on top of the bank next to the house ,because it's branches were hanging over the roof.
With all the storms we've been having, we thought it best to trim it a little incase it decided to fall over onto the house.
We don't like cutting trees down so we just gave it a good trim.

tree trimming.jpg
With a few cuts and bruises, the job was done at the end of the day.

At least it wont be falling onto our house any time soon.
tree trim.jpg

artwork.jpg
I thought I'd just add a few of my pottery art work displayed in my garden.

green house.jpg
I wont take you inside my green-house because nothing is happening there, in-fact, I'm giving up planting anything in there, I think that part of the garden is cursed, I planted beans and pumpkin, they came up beautifully, then some little slimy creatures (you know who I'm talking about) ate them all up, leaving just the stalks of the plants.
I did go up there with my torch one night, to catch them red-handed, but the little monsters went into hiding.
I've tried egg shells and cans of beer, they're to clever for me I'm
afraid.
They're definitely not my friends those dreadful things.

tools.jpg
So I'm hanging up my tools for now until I figure out how to eliminate those little terrors.

Maybe someone out there has some advise for me.

Love you all, hope you enjoyed the walk with me around my garden today.

Until next time.
Happy Gardening

untitled.gif

HIVE SILVER BLOGGERS SUBSCRIPTION LINK:

If you're between the ages of 40 and 100 and have a passion for blogging and cryptocurrency plus have some wisdom to share, please stop by and subscribe to the new exciting Hive Silver Bloggers Community that is already attracting some of the best talent here on Hive.

image.png

Hive animated divider 1.gif

Thank you for stopping by.

All photos property of @artywink
Original content by @artywink

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1600093345682018305 twitter metadata:MTI2MDIxMTM3NTg4MTgxNDAxNnx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xMjYwMjExMzc1ODgxODE0MDE2L3N0YXR1cy8xNjAwMDkzMzQ1NjgyMDE4MzA1fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @artywink, @madushanka ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 last year  

I just love everything in your garden @artywink ...the lawn looks lovely and lush as well, so don't be too hard on it😅
As for the tree orchids, stunning! And your wall where the tools hang is really quaint.
Thanks for taking us on a walk through your lovely garden, time we paid it a visit when hubby's 100% well again🥰

 last year  

Wow! you have a wide great garden and the lawn, oh! I like it very much. It's so green and its so relaxing in the eyes and for sure in the body and mind as well. I am imagining to have a picnic in that ground.

You're so blessed to have that acre of land to plant different flowers and fruits.

 last year  

Thank you @jenthoughts yes I am blessed, and thank you for reminding me.
I love my garden very much, and love to share it with others.
Thank you so much for passing by.
Have an awesome day.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 last year  

Thank you @qurator much appreciated.

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator priyanarc & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

 last year  

Thank you so much @diyhub much appreciated.

Love your garden, dear @artywink You have plenty of space for growing fruits and vegetables, or even just enjoying some greenery. :) I planted lime tree and cherry tomato here too and hope to harvest some fruits soon :)

 last year  

Very nice your garden, I like it. Greetings

 last year  

Greetings @multifacetas thank you.
Thanks for stopping by.
Have a safe and great weekend.

Lovely large garden with plenty of variety for summer and winter flowering, older one gets the more burdensome that mowing becomes.

Orchid is stunning enjoying tree life, vegetables take so much patience if not planting what is natural to the surrounding region. Slugs and snails and puppy dog tails, sometimes they work other days plain frustrating.

!LUV

 last year  

Thank you @luvshares, much appreciated.
Thank you for stopping by.

 last year  

Thank you @joanstewart, if it weren't for the dogs, we'd down size for sure.
Thank you for stopping by.

Gardens brought about sanity over the last couple of years, a little space to move around outdoors with the dog. 😅

 last year  

Oh yes, I don't know what I'd do without my garden and dogs.
Thanks @joanstewart for passing by, have a great day.

Have a wonderful Saturday, appears thunder and lightning storms once again tonight.

 last year  

Haha I lvoe that last gif. Sorry I took so long to get around to this. Your garden must get a bit of water to maintain a lawn like that! Amazing. I know what you mean about the aches and pains - try 5 acres aaaah!!! I love your ceramics! And I'm sure you can do something about the greenhouse - sometimes it just takes a concerted effort. That's coming from me, who has ENTIRELY neglected her polytunnel and is behind on the weeding.... Happy Christmas, @artywink - see you in the garden next year!

 last year  

Happy Christmas to you and your family too @riverflows.
You're so right, it takes just that little concerted effort.
I don't like using chemicals, only use natural repellants. Maybe I should get a few chickens and put them in the greenhouse Haha.
Have a safe holiday and keep healthy.

 last year  

Oh chooks would be a perfect idea!!!!

 last year  

untitled.gif