March garden journal

in HiveGarden2 years ago

I have been waiting for spring for a long time and now it has finally come.

0.jpg

From the first days of spring and even earlier, I started preparing for the new gardening season.

1.jpg

First of all, I put in order the places of future planting of potatoes. This year, as in the past, I will plant one part according to the classic version - in the ground, and the second part under the hay. Last year's results with hay made me very happy, I hope they will not disappoint this time.

2.jpg

I made improvised beds for zucchini from old tires and mulched it with old hay and leaves.

3.jpg

As I have written many times, our land is bad, so I traditionally collect the land for the beds from this mountain of manure.

4.jpg

Part of it has already completely rotted and turned into excellent soil.

5.jpg

I have already planted one bed with onions and another with carrots.

6.jpg

And of course I expanded my new garden, planting 7 more trees there (walnut, cherry, mulberry, apple trees).

7.jpg

In total, 21 trees were planted and this is not the end.

Sort:  

Nice orchard you have going!

I've got a big stack of tires and have been trying to figure out what to use them for. Hard part for me is finding a spot that I can set them more permanently where they will get sun. I may have to stack them and try carrots since my soil is not very conducive to growing them in the garden. Maybe I can create a lighter soil in the tires.

 2 years ago (edited) 

I made improvised beds for zucchini from old tires

I love this, I am going to copy it (^_^)