Dehydrating GREEN ONION!

in HiveGardenlast year

Dehydrating Green Onion

Many of us grow more vegetables than we can use, when we harvest them, so, WHAT to do with your BOUNTY? Here's a quick little tip for how to save your extra green onion, chives, or any kind of onion, really! My gardens are in New England, zone 6b/7a.

I grow Red and Green Bunching Onion, Chives, and 5 varieties of bulbing onion. Watch this SHORT video, to see how I process the abundance of green onion, and use the dehydrator to save for use in my cooking, later in winter! I hear plenty of people use a regular oven, but be sure to set the oven for LOW LOW LOW temps, to dry foods, NOT cook them.


Dehydrating Onion.jpg


Consider Sharing and Subscribing on YouTube. It really helps me out if you subscribe to my YouTube Channel...
...and of course, if you SHARE the Video, too! MANY Thanks!



Most of you know, I prefer to grow my own food, locally. It's healthier for my family, and for the planet. I know what goes into my foods, and what chemicals are NOT in my food. Also, It cuts down on carbon emissions, less trucking, planes, trains, and boats, to get fresh foods to my table.




And that makes me smile... better for the planet, better for my own family.




Are you growing and gardening? Are you participating in GroVid23? use the hashtag #growvid23 for your gardening posts, too!


Let me know below in the comments...



#gardening #plants #harvest #gardentips #homesteading


Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below...
and a link to your #GroVid23 garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid23 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy Gardening and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Images by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

7000payout.png10500 replies.png260000upvotes.png
postallweek.pngpostallmonth.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngXmas2022.pngpud.s3.pngverified.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png



Sort:  

Just watched the vid - pretty dope! First time, I've seen a dehydrator. Cool.

Thanks, for watching. It's a nice way to preserve fruit, onions, carrot, tomato, pepper, many other items, too. Basically, it is "low and slow"

I usually dry left over chopped parsely.. though that I just leave in a bowl and kinda rotate it towards the air until dry. That device would make drying all herbs a breeze - nice.

This is my first time of hearing the name green onions. Wow, how does it taste? Like normal red onion or a bit different? Please tell me

I grow Green, White and Red Bunching Onion. Bunching as opposed to onion that turns into Bulb. Personally I prefer the Red Bunching both for color (I love presentation when I cook), and because I think they taste slightly sweeter. But for soups and stews, any of the three colours will do when you want onion present but not the main flavor!

these are my White, Yellow, And Red Bulbing Onion:

IMG_4344.JPG

On the right, is the Red Bunching Onion (they look like onion stalks, really, but taste similar to regular bulbing onion). On bottom of pic is the Utah Yellow Onion (Bulb)

IMG_4413.JPG

Wow, I love what am seeing from here. The yellow onion is so attractive. Hope your garden products do bring joy to your heart?

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 166 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
8

Delicioso aunque es primera vez que veo cebollas verdes 😁, conozco las moradas y las blancas

Nice video. We have some chives coming in from garden now. Plus lots of garlic. I've used my oven to dehydrate, I wish I had one of the newer ones with a dehydrate setting. I put in a thermometer and watch the temp closely. Even open the door sometimes.

hey, opening the door helps to prevent overheating... whatever it takes! LOL

That's some impressive chopping skills!

I would never think to dried up spring onion. That's only edible plant I am able to grow :D (maybe besides potato's, but we will see about that!) .

I will try this for sure:)

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 290000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 14
Feedback from the August Hive Power Up Day
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 13