FINALLY, planted my fall garlic!

in HiveGarden9 months ago

Garlic.jpg

FINALLY, FINALLY, FINALLY planting my fall garlic!

I am trying some NEW varieties of Hardneck Garlic, from MIGardener.com: Chesnok Red - Purple Stripe, and Northern White Hardneck. Follow along, in this video, as I show you MY process for planting Fall Garlic, for harvest come early Summer. My gardens are in New England, zone 6b/7a.

Last year, I planted my garlic, in two 25 gallon (95 liter) Fabric Grow Bags. We had an obscenely wet spring and summer, so the result was NOT what I was hoping for. This year, I am trying an experiment: two 25 gallon Grow Bags, and an inground garden bed. Both will get the same fertilizer, soil (to start) and straw mulch. We shall see how they both do, compared to each other.


Consider Sharing this video, and Subscribing on YouTube. It really helps me out if you subscribe to my YouTube Channel...
...and of course, if you SHARE the Video, too! MANY Thanks!

Watch below, to see how I planted my fall garlic, this year, in this video!



Most of you know, I prefer to grow my own food, locally. It's healthier for my family, and for the planet. I know what goes into my foods, and what chemicals are NOT in my food. Also, It cuts down on carbon emissions, less trucking, planes, trains, and boats, to get fresh foods to my table.

And that makes me smile... better for the planet, better for my own family.




Are you growing and gardening? Are you participating in GroVid23? use the hashtag #growvid23 for your gardening posts, too!


Let me know below in the comments...



#garlic #gardening #gardentips #homesteading #growing #planting #migardener


Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below...
and a link to your #GroVid23 garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid23 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy Gardening and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Images by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

7000payout.png10500 replies.png260000upvotes.png
postallweek.pngpostallmonth.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngXmas2022.pngpud.s3.pngverified.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png



Sort:  

Oh wonderful! I hope you have incredible bounty from your garlic efforts. We are also having an obsenely wet season. Summer is really late starting after a spring with so much frost we were concerned about our blossoming fruit trees. Our area is semi-desert so we have the absolute minimal rainfall. This year it has flooded already three times in our valley in the last 6 months. Everything is constantly wet. It's a big concern. So I totally relate to your gardening challenges

It always makes for challenges, when one plans their garden to survive in their area, (for you, Semi Desert) then, there are floods!

Exactly!

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 170000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 180000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Oh my gosh! I love garlic and I use a lot of it in all my cooking. However, I had no idea about softneck and hardneck garlic. I have observed the difference, but I never ever thought that maybe it was two different kinds.
I enjoyed this video a lot:)))

THANKS!
I cook with a LOT of garlic, too, so, planting and growing my own is a great solution. Since I get so much COLD and snow, I need to plant Hardneck, for it to survive over winter.

Next time I go shopping for garlic, I'm gonna examine to see the type first. I can't stop grinning about this discovery, and I will keep the idea of planting garlic in mind too :)

Cannot wait to see what you do!

Nice reminder. I'm going to put garlic in some of my small raised beds.

It's worth it. Easy to do, and VERY easy to take care of!

This reminds me of my plan to plant garlic. It will be my first-ever attempt to plant garlic. I hope I will be succesful.

I am sure it will be great!

Your garlic looks great I love it, my mother wanted to learn how to grow it before she died, she was just gathering information to do it, she was of the same opinion as you that the best thing for the planet and in the end for us was to grow our own food, she said that the food that is sold to us has so many chemicals that only harm us.

Some food sold in stores is fine, but, when you plant your OWN, you know for SURE what is on and in the food you grow!

Thanks for this. I was gifted some garlic from a garlic farm the other year, hopefully they can still be planted. Am going to do it this week.

As long as the ground is not frozen, garlic can be planted.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 178 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10