You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Till The Day Away

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Potato goes into the ground this week for me. The rest? Seeds are sown indoors and under Lights and heat. Peas will go in ground April 1st, as will lettuce and spinach. the rest will go outside, May 1st!

I wonder if someone left that potato of yours? or was it simply someone who snuck in and left it near your soil? Sometimes my brother will do that to me. For a joke.

Sort:  

Last year we had an invasion and potato leaves were destroyed while the plants were relatively young. So baby potatoes only. And we pulled them out using pitchforks, etc. This one must have been catapulted and then buried in the soil again for a season. It was half a giraffe away from its original bed.

how many giraffe's wide is your garden plot?

I'd say about twenty half-giraffes*.

*It's a custom measure recently used by a British astronomer to describe a meteorite that hit Earth hours after being discovered. Just repeating the news I heard from other social media people.

There's a Bridge, across a river, near me. I live near where MIT is. The famous University.

Well, as a prank. decades ago, they invented a unit of measurement, called the Smoot:

maxresdefault.jpg

they measured the bridge length, by taking one of their classmates and laying him down, over and over, to see how many Smoots (his name) long the bridge is. now, it is an MIT standard.

Awesome to know that, too :)