When Doves Cry

in HiveGarden2 years ago

IMG_2592.JPG

It's Friday, That Must Mean Appetizer Night!

Right after we moved into this house, we started a tradition: Appetizer Night!

We had recently moved, and wanted people to come visit us in the new house. Actually, it was the house I grew up in, but for us, as a Married Couple, it was new to us. My Folks had retired and moved to Cape Cod. So, we moved form a small apartment into the family home. We had a newborn and one on the way, and space was rapidly shrinking where we currently were.

IMG_2592.JPG

In the small bowl, Loucanico (Greek Sausage made with bits of Orange, cooked in olive oil, lemon, and seasoned with my oregano growing under my grow lights),
On the board (Clockwise from red meat): Chorizo, Salami w/ Red Wine and Garlic, Prosciuto, Sliced Fuji Apples, Creamy Feta, Super Sharp Cheddar, Celery, w/ cherry tomato in center!

Our idea behind appetizer nights, were simple: We didn't want to cook after the work week, a cocktail and time with friends was was we looked forward to. Also, we didn't want anyone else to spend all night cooking, either. so, the tradition evolved into an informal, drop in pot luck appetizer night.

IMG_2593.JPG

Hot from the oven: On left, Spanakopita (Spinach Trangle in Phyllo), Tiropita (Cheese filled Phyllo), and Gyro meat filled Trigona, on right, some Mozzarella Cheese sticks, and bottom right, some Egg Rolls.

The things with our Apps Nights? we had a standing open house. UNLESS we let you know otherwise, it was a a drop in, bring what you wanted, kind of night. We had invites open to a dozen couples and a half dozen singles. People simply showed up, we never truly knew who was coming... or when. Sometimes the night ended early, by 7 or 8. Sometimes, it went longer into the wee hours. It was just that, a relaxed, open night.

IMG_2594.JPG

My Plate!

When someone was coming by, there was no recrimination if they didn't bring something... sometimes, people were not able to... that's fine, my table is ALWAYS open. Most however, would bring an appetizer, and a drink. Beer for some (that's something I don't drink, so it was never in the house) or cocktail, or, whatever.

As I said, we never knew who or what the night would bring. But the fun part was in not knowing. it was a core group, with a rotating cast of characters from all over the political spectrum, Atheists, to a Pastor. Friends to family, all were invited.

When I do appetizer nights, deep in the icy cold of winter, now, and smack dab in the heart of a global pandemic, it's fun to remember all the people who would visit, and the amazing conversations that happened.

...Get yourselves ready, Gardeners for an upcoming #GroVid22 Challenge!

There will be more details coming soon, but, #dreemport is partnering with the Hive Garden Community, to spotlight the amazing posts that @hivegarden community members make, to announce the upcoming #GroVid22 Challenge. #hivegarden #gardening, and #homestead I don't want to spoil the surprise, but STAY TUNED FOR MORE GROWING GOODNESS!


Happy New Planting and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

Always, I strive to give back
To the animals and birds around me
to put more plants in than I take out
And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

posts.png5500 comments.png4000HP.png
postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngpostallmonth.png
8500 replies.png100000.png140000upvotes.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png




Sort:  

I wish I could attend the apps night. Hehehe! Those dishes look really appetizing 😋.

IMAGINE?
What if we did an APPETIZER night for Hive?

And all of us could come to it?

That'll be great! Hehehe. Would it be a physical meeting or a digital appetizer night? I'm just curious wanna be sure🙈.

What would you bring to it?

Hehe! I'll come with an empty stomach to eat till I'm filled 🤣🤣. Don't mind me though, I'll come with samosas and some bottles of red wines for those who take wines.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 89 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
13

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 145000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 150000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22