After A Too Long And Hot Summer

in HiveGardenlast year

When I'm bored searching through my photo archive I do something more enjoyable and creative. I pick up my camera and try to take a few pictures of what I see near me. This makes some posts contain my youngest photos, only a few hours old!

Today I did the same. Being a true autumn day, not the kind that reminds me of summer anymore, I wanted to have some photos of the flowers in my yard, my longest-living flowers... yet flowers that live under the threat that at any moment the frost axe may fall on them.

I mean flowers that enjoy every moment they have left to live!

This year has been characterized by a long and hot summer. I'm reminded of a series I watched as a child...a teenager: "The long hot summer", if I remember correctly. The title alone fits what this year has been like. This far too-hot summer has been very hard on my little garden, which is why I haven't even posted anything in #hivegarden because I had nothing to show for it. Now, autumn has been nice, fixed a few things and I'm trying to "brag" a bit too...

IMG_20221103_161648.jpg

Looking out at my very small garden ravaged by late autumn.

IMG_20221108_163655.jpg

My favorite sight is the group of birch trees that barely fit in the yard. The birches are exceptionally beautiful trees, every season they are different, but just as beautiful!

IMG_4065.jpg

The geraniums have already been moved into the house. They also look out the window at their colleagues who are still outside. Some of the plants in the yard will stay outside until they die or hibernate, and the perennials and others are going to overwinter in the house too.

IMG_4069.jpg

I left the window and the warmth of the house to walk close to some of the plants that are still hanging on in the yard, in the increasingly cold temperatures.

The first to catch my eye was the shrubs with intensely colored leaves. Very beautiful leaves die! Red, orange, yellow...

IMG_4071.jpg

IMG_4081.jpg

Most of the trees and shrubs in my garden lose their leaves when winter comes. Before they part from this world, these leaves seem to bid us farewell with wonderful colors.

Only a few are evergreen. The bamboo you can see in the background...

IMG_4078.jpg

IMG_4079.jpg

... and this shrub that has these orange fruits. I don't know what its name is.

IMG_4073.jpg

Roses are among the plants that want to enjoy themselves until the last day of life, so often the first snowfall finds many still blooming.

IMG_4088.jpg

IMG_4087.jpg

IMG_4090.jpg

The main purpose of taking these photos is to practice RAW photography and editing with Lightroom Classic. If the shooting mode is simple and I am used to it for a long time, for editing I am not well prepared. I use these photos to get used to it.

IMG_4084.jpg

IMG_4082.jpg

IMG_4085.jpg

I was a cinephile. In my youth, many years ago... I still remember.
Film directors, unlike actors, have just generic names, few people who watch the film know what the director looks like, although he is the most important person in the film, he is the creator, the conductor of everything that happens in the film. But there are some directors who usually appear in their films, not those who are also actors and have a role in the film, I mean directors who appear for a few seconds, often unrecognized by the audience. The most famous case is that of Alfred Hitchcock, who was a silhouette who sometimes walked across the frame.

Obviously, there can be no comparison here, I was just inspired and put the silhouette of the amateur photographer that I am.

BeFunky-design (5).jpg

every_picture.jpg

image14.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @bilgin70 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Nice photos, autumn really has a palette of the most beautiful colors.

my favorite seasonless autumn, it's amazing the colors go from yellow to orange to brown

From Saturday to right now, the weather has been about 20C and suffocating in Istanbul, which is unusual in November. Therefore, I can call 2022 summer "A Long Summer" ;)

Well done @bluemoon! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to see your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.