Sad Beans

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Just look at these sad scarlet runner beans. Not only are they not scarlet, but they are failing to run very far. They should be 12 feet tall by now, but here they are maxed out at 2 feet.

It really is a strange year. Sufficient rain, but not enough heat. The temperatures continue to be low at night, sometimes less than 10 Celsius. The result is that all my stuff is short.

I planted many different varieties of beans, but for some reason they all look the same AND they are all blooming with these same light pink flowers. I have never seen that before.

OH and then there is this. Out of my rose bush came this useless elm tree. Why can't it grow where I need shelter from the wind and shade from the sun? OH no. It grows right next to the house where I am now forced to dig it out.

I suppose I should count my blessings rather than fixate on these minor annoyances. Most of my garden is doing very nicely this year and I am grateful for all the rain that we have had.

Sort:  

Funny thing, Scarlet Runner Beans, I'm in the same boat as you - they're neither Scarlet nor running very far.

Congratulations @brittilicious! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Two suggestions:
1.That soil is crying out for some mulch (leaves, hay, grass clippings)-->this will hold in moisture, heat and encourage worms to aerate the soil.

  1. You need a much bigger trellis for those to climb on.
    !PIZZA
    !HBIT

Yes, on both suggestions! I used up all my mulch this year, AND those little poles are not enough. I ran out of trellises, too! Usually I just grow them on wires and strings. I plant them wherever I am looking to fix nitrogen in the soil. Next year I will be putting perennials in that spot.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@cobaltum(8/15) tipped @brittilicious (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

I admire your plants

Just look at it as a free tree....

Hope the beans set enough pods to run you raggad! Keep on planting.

💙🤠🙏👍