Spring is finally here

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Hello friends,
It is starting to warm up a little out there and I have been slowly getting my garden in.
20220423_174618.jpg
Honestly, it is still too chilly out to put any plants in, but I am able to put a few things in the greenhouse and into my cold frames. Even still, I wonder if it would be best to put a small space heater in the greenhouse for the colder nights. We are expecting snow on Thursday!! Yikes!!
20220508_135833.jpg
I put a few tomatoes and peppers into the greenhouse just to see if they will make it. They have been there a week and so far so good. It will not be long before it is a jungle in there.

Tomatoes are very hardy and can take some chilly weather, but it needs to be warmer than 10 Celsius at night for them to grow. Otherwise, they will just sit and wait until the conditions are right. The variety that I have in there now is "Manitoba", which are an early variety that does not mind cool weather. In another week or so I will add a few more heirloom seedlings that I have.

After the last frost in June (probably June 14th this year, I will put more seedlings into the outdoor garden plot. As soon as it is hot out they will catch up quick.
20220508_142759.jpg

I opened one of my cold frames and I must say that I remain unimpressed. I threw some seeds in there at the end of April and they are waiting for warmer weather still. Cold frames are meant to extend the season, but so far I have found that the seeds do not germinate any quicker than the ones in my regular garden plot.

Of course, the weeds do well in the cold frames. I have had to weed them twice so far!

At least I know that Spring is finally here. I was beginning to wonder--as I always do--but it seems that most of my trees and shrubs have managed to start budding out.
20220511_185046.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations @brittilicious! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from May - Day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!