PAIRING FRESH POMEGRANATE JUICE WITH GARLIC AND OLIVES

in HiveGarden2 years ago

IMG_0061 (20).JPG

Distinctly fruit-forward and tart on the nose. The faintest hint of garlic. With a cloying undertone of olives. Also delicately earthy on the palate and crisp on the nose. So our win(e)ter has begun with a rich and aromatic gulp. This means constantly dirty finger nails and muddy BuckarooBabies. But our gardens are planted with gazillions of garlic and various root vegetables. Plus, at the end of a hard day on the homestead we get to gulp down a glass of freshly squeezed pomegranate juice while we nibble on last season's olives. Ah! A perfect pairing of the fruits of our labours. Delightful!

IMG_0058 (24).JPG

After a radical olive tree pruning last summer our grove is overgrown but rather sparse on the olives. We expected that but it also means next season will be incredible. We had to buy in olives from another homesteader to brine for the next year. The Buckaroo Clan loooooove olives so we needed a few buckets full. Our tiny farm children were very excited about brining the olives.

image.png

A big part of homesteading life is processing produce. A lot of it. In a short space of time. While keeping on top of all the usual and unexpected farm responsibilities. Over the last week we've been Juicing our Organic Pomegranates. In the process I'm dehydrating the pulp to make flour. Not neglecting those kilogrammes and kilogrammes of olives we need to keep rinsing and re-brining.

IMG_0028 (31).JPG

This week we had to tackle the bigger task of planting extra winter grazing for our goats and sheep. Into the lucerne (alfalfa) fields we put down a mix of barley, oats and wheat. Which has to be kept wet and free of feasting wild birds.

IMG_0036 (30).JPG

Despite very inconsistent and irregular weather patterns our garlic has started shooting. There has been great whoops of exuberance around the Buckaroo Homestead.

IMG_0043 (26).JPG

This year we planted far more garlic than normal. We were also very particular about keeping exactly within the moon cycle. And unlike my free spirited gardening inclination we measured the exact spacing and depth for our big garlic fest! So far our efforts are being handsomely rewarded as the sparse looking gardens are a riot of bright green shoots!!! More pomegranate juice anyone? Chink chink!!!

IMG_0050 (25).JPG

Sort:  

I did some gardening on the weekend too, put my winter crop in. I'm probably going to do a post on it when I get five minutes to make it happen.

It looks like y'all have got a good thing going growing up there. Those olives! So delish! (Delish-looking). Do you sun-dry any? I have a friend who does that and they are so good!

No. Only brining or dry salting. But sun-drying sounds just up my alley!

They salt them and then lay them out on racks to get scrumptious with the help of the Australian sun. They are very tasty. 😉

That simple? I'm going to try it. Sounds delicious

We'll, that's what it looked like for me. You may want to google it though, Google knows everything.

Fresh squeezed pomegranate juice and olives! AHHH! My friend, you are so living the best life! Love seeing all those homesteading in action pictures, and I gave an involuntary little snortle of you preach it mama glee when I read this:

A big part of homesteading life is processing produce. A lot of it. In a short space of time.

I fed my garlic today, so excited that yours is doing so well, I also so hope you all are enjoying all the fruits of your labor, you so deserve it😊

You have a good-looking garden. It is easy to tell you spend the necessary time and effort needed. I saw your post on ListNerds because a ListNerd member shared the link to your post in an email. If you are not already a member of ListNerds, you may want to consider joining and get the same benefits as the person who shared your link. I would love to see more of your posts.

Oh wow. Thank you

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 2 years ago  

The olives are so lovely to look at. Good evening!

Oh they are delicious even if we have to wait half a year before we can eat them

 2 years ago  

You're welcome (^_^)

 2 years ago  

Man, I can TASTE your garden in this post!!

Pomegranate flour??? Is that a new thing?

I'm waiting for bad weather to justify being inside and making cheese. Autumn is too good!!!

I was more careful with garlic spacing this year too. But still, it never fails Me, no matter what I do. I need more for garlic infused honey... It's the best

Pomegranate flour? I'm setting the trend. It just became a thing!

Autumn is wonderful. And Spring. The in between seasons are my favourite. Night's are perfect to snuggle up but day's are glorious to be outside

 2 years ago  

It just became a thing!

I think I'm cool just to know you!

Thought of you today... I had pomegranate pistachio Turkish delight!!!

Night's are perfect to snuggle up but day's are glorious to be outside

Nailed it..

 2 years ago  

Wow lovely. I would love you homestead. Happy your garlic are raising their heads. I have tried planting garlica as well on my garlic. Hoping they continue to do well.