Village life, taking care of a garden… Nearly 3 acres of yard…

My grandma’s garden, me helping

Hey there Hive gardeners!

Myself @iliyan90 I’m spending 3-th summer in a roll at my village to help my grandma @vasilka.popova45 to help for the garden…
I do my blogs for Ecency Bulgarian community so I decided to active my first account to share some moments in English as well.


And let me tell you my grandma is the most amazing and hard working person I know…

The past summer of 2021 there was a few days here with @ivangeevo & @koychev22 & @vasilka.popova45 where I made a statement that she’s working more then 3 of us all together…

You know she has grown working on the field since childhood….
So this kind of work is coming a kind of overwhelming for us…

  • It’s a shame in a way…
    3 Young mans can’t do the half of the work she is doing…

img_2275

img_2273

img_2276

She is get used to work under the hot sunlight…
Compare to us, can’t stand 10-15 min of doing something without taking a 2 minutes break.

One of the things the we don’t like is:

  • She is coming and work on the hottest hours of the day!
    Just a little before noon 🕛
    And getting tired by the mind afternoon…

But that’s mainly because she lives in town and have to travel to here…

It’s been like this the past 50 years for her…

All of her hard work has payed off with great production!

Any how I do live here and trying to help with some work…
But you know it’s hard to take care of nearly 3 acres of yard…

She is placing so much production that we have enough to feed nearly all the relatives we have around…

For example last year we had nearly 200+ roots of tomatoes 🍅
1000+ pepper 🫑
A lot of potatoes 🥔
Cucumber 🥒
Lettuce 🥬
Onion 🧅
Garlic 🧄

And more…

So this year we kind of tried to cut everything in half…
But not very much successfully….

If she have a potatoes 🥔 for planting she wants to put it the ground…

I do understand her point of view but it requires a lot of work…

img_2279

This summer problems in the yard

This summer of 2022 is kind of problematic…
We have a lot of crickets 🦗 & Mole crickets…
Very hard to get rid of them without any chemicals…
And because this summer I’m having for a company 2 more pets:
Cat 🐈‍⬛- Rick
Chicken 🐓- Morty

She is afraid to spray so they don’t get hurt…

You can find more about my pet family here:
https://ecency.com/hive-196708/@calisthenicsdrop/introduction-to-my-pet-family


To be honest for me the work we are doing is too much…
I do prefer to have more time to myself and the pet family…

  • Just watering the garden takes nearly 2 hours in the hot summer days…
    Having to clean the grass is one of the worst jobs: a lot of small flies that are constantly flying around you, going into the mouth 👄 or in the eye 👁

One day when is up to me to grow my own products I’ll take of 3 times less production…
Less but more efficient…

I also started looking into permaculture a year ago…

So that’s one of the things I will look into more depth once I move out to my own piece of land…


Here we are we have tomatoes 🍅 outdoor

img_2303

We have tomatoes 🍅 in a greenhouse…

  • A few cucumbers 🥒 and peppers 🫑

It’s a first year that she is going in a greenhouse…

img_2306

Here is the outdoor pepper 🫑

img_2301

Here are the potatoes 🥔

img_2302

Here a few rolls of grapes 🍇

img_2305

And here she wants to place more cucumbers 🥒 and melons 🍈 & watermelon 🍉

At the end the green is strawberries 🍓

img_2304

You can check on my strawberry 🍓 farm in this video

You can comment via Ecency or any Hive front end here

Yet again that’s a short intro into our work around here, we have more


Content owned by @iliyan90

I do daily content in Bulgarian lenguge for our community Ecency Bulgarian community

Trying to gain more engagment in our county for Hive blockchain.

I’ll share in English to gain more exposure and hopefully to gain some support for growing the network around Bulgaria:

If you decide to support the Bulgarian community growth you can do it by delegating some HP to account @hive-bulgaria
Or using some of the links down below.


Adding your account to the curation trail of @hive-bulgaria is appreciated as well.
You can use the link if you wish to help with the growth:

https://hive.vote/dash.php?trail=hive-bulgaria&i=1


Yet again I'll try to share content in English time to time, hopefully to find some supporters for the Bulgarian community


Also if you are interested in understanding the mechanisms of the Human body you can check out my Yoga tutorial in English here:

https://ecency.com/yoga/@iliyan90/what-is-yoga-the-well-being-of-your-existence

Namaste

Sort:  

It looks very big garden 🤗👌🍷 but it is cool to see how all this gets green.

Absolutely…
It’s really big…
Actually from my point of view is too much…
But my grandma 👵 likes to grow a lot…
🙏

that really looks like a lot of work. permaculture is a good idea, but only possible to a limited extent

Mmm depends what you’re are growing I guess…
What’s your region etc…

i live in central europe. my problem is the snails, the problem with young trees is mice.

Yep I had the same problem on my strawberry 🍓 farm as well…
A lot of snails 🐌
🙏

Time and effort…

🙏

@tipu curate

I personally agree with your point of view about having too much stuff to grow, I think all you need is enough for yourself and a bit of surplus to share with friends & family :) . This year is experimental in my garden, like learning how stuff grows, how to water it properly and etc... Only having tomatoes garlic & onions is all I've got because I don't want to overwhelm myself too much. Slow but steady ;)

That’s good 👍
But you can always have some melons 🍈 and watermelons 🍉
For the summer…
I hope you did those as well, just maybe didn’t mention it…

That's a big garden. Your grandma must work really hard to maintain it.

True in fact…
It’s too big in my opinion to be honest…
The other day I had that conversation with my cousin…
Better less but more efficient…
Now is hard to maintain it…
🙏

Beautiful garden

Doing kind of our best ;)
🙏

I love seeing the plants you share here.

Thank you 🙏