Getting new plants, moving the palm tree seedlings, sowing some little more. #GardenJournal

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Regards to everyone in this green and cheerful community! I hope that all of you are doing more than fine. It has been a couple of weeks since I didn't come around to share the progress of my doings in the garden, and boy a lot has happened, so I have many things to say.

After transplanting the palm tree seedlings that I had in small pots, I placed two, three, and even four of the sprouts together on 12 L pots. I intend to move each one to a 20-30 L pot in time, but I will wait until they grow a bit more. Meanwhile, I can also save money to buy the big amount of soil that I will need, and the new containers as well.

P1080686.JPG

P1080687.JPG

P1080688.JPG

P1080690.JPG

P1080736.JPG

I have the 22 palm tree seedlings lined up together under the shade of the neighbor's tree in my backyard. I hope that they like that place, survive the winter, the bugs, and my dog Pauchi who has been interested in plugging out some of my palm seedlings in the past. I placed big rocks in front of the pots, so it was hard for him to access them.

I bought two beautiful plants in the local gardener store, where the Brazilian lady is very kind, giving me advice and stuff. One of the plants is a small Rose, yellow, which I placed next to the other small red rose that I have.

P1080671.JPG

P1080702.JPG

The other plant that I got she called it "Chinese Fern", which I thought was very cute and has a curious form. I dug a hole and placed it on the soil, next to my little palms.

P1080670.JPG

P1080724.JPG

P1080726.JPG

Talking about a curious-looking plant, I decided to release the monster from its cage. A couple of months ago, a workmate gave me a small piece of a purple plant, which I had previously told him that I thought was cute from a picture of his garden. He said that I have to "control this plant" and he recommended that I not plant it directly in the soil but instead into a small pot, because he said that this plant grows easily and so quickly that it will cover any space in short amounts of time.

P1080720.JPG

The small piece that he gave me indeed rooted instantly on the pot that I placed it on, and then started to grow steadily until now that I even saw its roots going out of the pot from the bottom side, so I decided to give it a chance of freedom and expansion and I placed it directly on the soil in a spot in the garden close to the Jasmine little tree. Of course, I will be checking up on its growth and development, for it to take up only the space that I wish for it to cover. Maybe I will prune it in the future and grow it elsewhere.

P1080721.JPG

P1080722.JPG

P1080723.JPG

Here, it is a very common plant, and it even grows on the streets, everywhere, and people don't seem to consider it a pretty plant, instead, they see it as an invasive weed, common and ordinary, but since I was not very familiar with it, I like its color and form.

The sowing of the past week.

Some of the tree seeds that I have sowed in the Arboretum are still in the meditation process, thinking whether they want to come out as trees or not at all. So I always think of alternatives to keep adding more in the case that those that I have already planted never germinate.

One of these days I was walking and going to class and I saw this gorgeous tree-like malvaceae, with lots of big, intense red color flowers on it, and while admiring it, I saw some branches full of seeds, so I wasn't going to miss the opportunity to add little sprouts of this beauty to my fantasy botanical garden.

1645984321282.jpg

I took a picture of the mother plant I took the seeds from, but it is not entirely flattering to the reality of how gorgeous and striking it is to look at when it is in front of you.

I sowed the seeds of the malvaceae along with some more oak tree acorns that I found these last week's walking with my dogs around the neighborhood, and other strange yellow seeds that I picked on the ground that I had never seen before in my entire life.

P1080710.JPG

P1080732.JPG

P1080733.JPG

P1080734.JPG

P1080735.JPG

All these small pots containing the freshly sowed seeds went to the space where my palm trees were inside the arboretum, where the humidity is higher and they are covered from the sun, the birds, my dogs, and is ideal for the seeds to sprout.

Maybe I will stop soon of keep sowing new plants because autumn is nearly here and then obviously winter will come to slow the growth of everything, although it is not that cold here that it will kill the green.

I wish you to end your week wonderfully, and that March is filled with optimism and productive gardening activities. Until next time.

Cesar.

Sort:  

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Powered by LOTUS token, an alternative health social currency on HIVE. Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Hi @cesarj21. What a nice update on your garden. I love how you are slowly developing your arboretum, which is sure to be very varied and beautiful. That bed looks very beautiful, I hope it thrives a lot, they are very nice plants. The other plant, with a curious shape, purple color, that's the one my mother had when I was little, I don't remember its name, I guess if you take care of it, prune it and take care of it, it shouldn't become an invasive weed. It's nice to see you here again. A big hello, a hug and take care of yourself.

¡Hola @sirenahippie! I am very enthusiastic about the years to come with this project. I still have to sort things out like how much soil will I need in case I have millions of new seedlings from all the things that I sow, but I guess that is a thought for tomorrow. For now, I am expecting a lot of tiny trees to emerge at some point to take care of them so maybe, at least some will grow to be big and strong.
As always, I appreciate your support very much, and your kind words. Hugs back to you, dearest.

Wow, you have a very nice garden. I love your hibiscus how I wish I can ask some to add to my collection 😊.

Thank you so much! I think the garden is a work in progress. I wish I could send you hundreds of hibiscus seeds, they grow everywhere here and they develop those beautiful flowers and then of course after some time, the seeds.
I appreciate you coming to read my posts and your kind comment, I wish you the best.

Wow really? Do you have hundreds of them? I'm imagining now how beautiful your place is with those flowers. I love hibiscus because they only need a few efforts to grow and they give many flowers when flowering. I have almost 30 varieties but most of them didn't give me flowers yet. I wonder where its seeds take place because I never see hibiscus seeds before.

 2 years ago  

I love your palm tree, can't wait to see them grow.

Thank you! I am new to this and I hope that they survive the winter and then hopefully next summer I will get more soil to transplant individually the ones that stay alive. Kind regards to you, friend.

 2 years ago  

You're welcome (^_^)

Congratulations @cesarj21! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!