Updates of my backyard: the pruning, New kit to sow, and my first flowering plant.

in HiveGarden3 years ago

Hello! I salute everybody in this community, in which I am making my very first post. I used to share my experiences with planting on Natural Medicine, but now that I have a real garden, I find it more appropriate that I start posting here my new ideas and making.

I have been reading some of the posts on the front page and I liked them all, and I must say that I found myself doing more things related to gardening, and I like it so much that it is starting to become one of my favorite hobbies. It is amazing to me how therapeutic it can be to work with your bare hands and touch the ground, to see all the small things like insects and plants that otherwise if you're not looking, you wouldn't even notice.

Even though I've always loved gardens and the spaces outdoors, the experience that I have with gardening is very limited, so I am also learning a lot about ways to plant, and the whole maintenance that comes with having green spaces. Maybe that is why I enjoy reading so much of the posts on this community, and I would like it to be a space where people also give me their feedback about what I do in order to improve my skills.

I'm trying to figure out what kind of garden I want. I moved here only 3 months ago and I found a pretty space but I could notice that there were no efforts made by the owners to make it look like a proper garden. No flowers, no variety of plants. Just some sort of small tree, a type of palm, one big lettuce, and the rest was what I call "bad weed".

It took me some time to clean up the space from the bad weed, and finally yesterday I can say that it looks clean, wide and even bigger. The dogs love the space in which they now run happily like they have never run before, and it was them the main reason why I moved here, to make them happy and healthy, and all of us are enjoying the nice sun in the morning and the fresh air. I show you in the picture below the new look of the backyard after the pruning.

Diseño sin título (6).jpg

I also got very excited yesterday because finally the things that I bought for the plants arrived. I am gonna try to cultivate some flowering plants, maybe some aromatic and fruity ones too. In this “kit” I have gotten new soil and some new plastic flowerpots in different sizes to sow new plants and to move some of the things that I have planted before and that need moving from flowerpots.

P1070742.JPG

P1070743.JPG

P1070744.JPG

P1070745.JPG

P1070746.JPG

P1070747.JPG

P1070748.JPG

I have some Crataegus or “climbing plant” that I like very much and the little sprouts are growing fast and now I want to place them in another place, and also some tiny grapefruits that have germinated and need more space to grow. My dog Rita was very curious about everything, so of course, she was going to be in the pictures and take a look at what I was doing.

P1070736.JPG

P1070737.JPG

P1070738.JPG

P1070740.JPG

P1070741.JPG

One of these days when I was at the grocery store I saw a small plant with cute pink flowers on discount, and I couldn’t help but get it.

Since I got the soil today I decided to placed it on the ground, so is the first little plant that I've gotten in the soil of the garden with flowers. Previously I have bought roses for my boyfriend and we are still trying to take care of them because as soon as I brought the plant, she started to get sick and I thought she was going to die, but now it seems that she is gonna be ok and I think that she is growing a little and will be ready soon to join the pink-flower plant on the ground of the backyard.

P1070750.JPG

P1070751.JPG

P1070753.JPG

P1070754.JPG

P1070761.JPG

P1070763.JPG

I hope all of you continue to have a wonderful time, and my gratitude if you took the time to read this post, I salute and send my best wishes.

César.

Sort:  

Hi @cesarj21! I'm so glad you have a bigger space for the dogs and yourself, it's a beautiful area with lots of potential. It is awesome the before and after photos. The rose bush and the pink flowering plant are gorgeous. As far as general recommendations I can give you, they are basically the following:

  • Make sure the soil has earthworms, they enrich the soil and aerate it, preventing compaction.

  • Sow a variety of flowers and aromatic plants, this discourages unwanted insects.

  • If you are going to plant citrus, make sure they get plenty of sun and good watering. They are very susceptible to leafminers and white lice, so keep an eye out for a good biological controller. They should be available in specialty stores.

  • The rose bush should also receive sun, it is necessary for its health and flowering.

  • Although it may seem somewhat prosaic and unhygienic, there is a very valuable nutrient for our plants, and that is urine, our urine bound with water. I use it frequently on my cherry trees, and it ensures their continued bloom and fruiting.

Congratulations on your backyard, enjoy to the fullest that piece of paradise and greenery you now have in your life.

A hug.

Thank you for your advices! I read everything carefully and you can be sure that I am going yo apply them! For taking the time to give me your feedback that is much appreciated.
Regards and hugs back!