Growing for the first time Growing some sweet Basil

in HiveGarden2 years ago


Good Evening Community


I have been pretty busy with work and life so I haven't been around on Hive much but that plans to change as I have missed the awesome Hive community


Today's post is very different, its about gardening and growing herbs which I have never done before so this is certainly A new topic for you to read today.


Recently at work the store did A promotion on all seeds, the company was giving away free seeds to customers, no catch just free packets of seeds. Most of my work colleagues are gardeners themselves which sort of makes sense with our store also boasting its own garden centre. One of my colleagues suggested that I'd take some seeds for myself as she was shocked to hear that I have never done gardening before.


After learning from hear I decided to pick up A couple packets of seeds, Some spare pots and A small bag of compost.


I got myself A packet of carrot seeds and spinach seeds but seeing as they need to be sowed outdoors I decided to start off with some Basil as that can be grown on my window in my bedroom.


After A couple of days after placing my seeds they began to grow!

1654975876494.jpg

1654975876488.jpg


I have been watering A little each day not too much as they not outdoors in the heat but whenever the top soil is dry I add A little water.


Fast forward to today and I am seeing more progress.

1655845839530.jpg


I am not sure on when is the perfect time to do it but my colleague suggested I remove the root out of the compost and re plant it into A smaller pot and make multiple and have A few basil pots.


I am happy to be giving gardening A go and if all goes well maybe I will invest in A little pot greenhouse too grow some things outside.


Thanks for reading my post today.

Sort:  

well lookee you turning into a green thumb guy... good for you