Apple Tree: First Flowers Forming💐 [Gardening]

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)

img_20220319_113604097.jpg

After years of waiting, my dwarf apple tree has started to blossom with its first set of flowers. Over the years I have grafted Sweet 16, Akane, and Northern Spy onto this tree.

In this article we can watch the progression of this tree as it awakens with life, to the point where flowers emerge.

First Leaves

The top photo is from March 19, 2022. Leaf buds were beginning to pop.

img_20220331_105746954_hdr.jpg

All Leaf Buds Opened

On March 30 every leaf bud has finished forming from every branch tip. At this stage it was still not evident that the tree was preparing to form flowers.

img_20220331_105715667.jpg

Potential Problems

The ants were going bananas for these branch tips. At first I thought they were infesting the tree with disease or aphid pests. I flicked them off from the leaf folds where the ants were hiding, and spritzed the leaves and branches with scented soapy water.

In a couple days the ants where back, crawling on the branches to return to work. Clearly I have lost in the game of wits by the ant colony.

img_20220405_140532763_hdr.jpg

Credit Deserved

So the ants were not causing problems after all. While sheltering tightly packed in the damp green crevices between the leaves, the ants were actually behaving in military worker fashion to locate the buried flower buds, and pushing the outer leaves apart.

img_20220405_140543440_hdr.jpg

Rosey red buds were peeking out at me. I couldn't believe my eyes! 👀

img_20220405_140703410.jpg

No signs of disease or infestations anywhere. The ants have some sort of instinct to sniff out and recognize the apple flower buds weeks before they are even visible.

Farmers who grow brassicas know well how attracted ants are to the tightly packed florets of flowers where they hide their own farm of aphid honeydew producers.

Perhaps ants have a greater importance to the pollination cycle of plants than we realize. Ants might be just as important as bees and butterflies in helping plants to reproduce.

img_20220407_111024082_hdr.jpg

Snow and Chainsaws

img_20220411_080059926_hdr.jpg

April 11 arrives along with a few unexpected visits.

Nature decided to unleash a freak freeze with a blanket of snow. Very late in the year for this kind of weather.

img_20220411_100156223_hdr.jpg

And then we had the tree cutters arrive.

For years my mother has been complaining about the leaves that have to be raked up, so she convinced my dad to have five of our tall trees removed. Maybe I will talk more about this in another post.

My folks wanted me to move my apple trees because of their sudden decision they made without me. I insisted it was difficult to stake the trees into the proper shape, and they should be far away enough from the tree limbs that will be felled.

Most of the damage this day from the snow pack, tools, and heavy limbs resulted in damage to my lilies.

Ballooning Blossoms 🌸

img_20220415_170846892_hdr.jpg

Untarnished, the apple tree continues to push out petals.

img_20220415_191031572.jpg

Shades of red are becoming pink and white.

img_20220415_170928427_hdr.jpg

Visible buds are forming from every grafted union.

img_20220415_170902291_hdr.jpg

First Flowers 🌺

img_20220422_182856903_hdr.jpg

April 22 marks the day of the first flowers opening.

img_20220422_182859701_hdr.jpg

Bright white and pink petals.

img_20220422_180710107.jpg

img_20220420_154254970_mp.jpg

img_20220420_154309901.jpg

img_20220420_154300099_mp.jpg

Conclusion

Will the ants return to pollinate the fully formed flowers? Perhaps the bees, butterflies, and other flying insects will provide some assistance. Time will tell.

With luck we'll have fruit this year as well. 🍎 🍏


Post Beneficiaries:

This is my way of thanking each of you for your friendship and support. By sharing my talents on Hive, I can also share to help with your needs.

Let my success also grant you some happiness too.

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

Glorious Earth Day celebration 😍 I love the progression of photos leading to the actual blooms. Looks like you have a good selection of apple varieties on this tree. I looked them each up. 🤞 hopefully fruit this year! My climate is colder than yours. I am waiting to see if trees I planted last fall come out of dormacy. Lilies are hardy. I'm sure they will recover. Interesting discussion on the ants. I too immediately assume trouble when I see ants.

How exciting to finally see results of your experiment. I do hope the lilies survived...

 2 years ago  

The blooms are beautiful and I can imagine how you feel. It is exciting. Somehow the ants must be working symbiotically with the bloom.
Fingers crossed that the progress continues positively.

How nice. First, I have to tell you that your pictures are amazing, great photographic eyes you have.
I have always dreamed of having an apple tree, but in Venezuela, it is practically impossible to try, since the weather wouldn't allow it. I will begin to germinate apple seeds next spring so maybe one day I can observe this wonder by myself.
I have a huge problem with ants destroying everything in my garden, like my roses, lavender, jasmine, and tree seedlings. Did you say scented water works to keep them away? What do you put in the water? soap?
Thanks for sharing, I hope you harvest nice proud apples soon.

A little dishwater soap usually has enough scent to discourage ants and other pests, for a little while. It works best against aphids, because dishwater is so slippery, the bugs have a harder time hanging onto the smooth surfaces when it is soapy wet.

Do not overdo it. Spaying soapy water too frequently eventually deteriorates the protective woody or waxy coating all plants have.

I have had success growing apple from seed, but was not able to keep them alive after the second year. Either the trees were not strong and disease resistant, or my soil choice was all wrong.

The secret to starting the apple seed is to keep the seed lightly moist in a very cold place for 3 to 5 months until the roots sprout. Check weekly. A sandwich bag with a paper towel inside is perfect. Leave it in the coldest part of the fridge, or in the freezer door.

Check out my past results:

https://ecency.com/bonsai/@creativetruth/little-bit-of-creativetruth-on-growing-apples-from-seeds-bonsai

Young seed grown trees seem to be better protected when growing in clusters when younger. Maybe because it gives the roots and trunk better strength and protection against extreme temperatures and wind, or the soil stays healthier.

https://ecency.com/bonsai/@creativetruth/apple-trees-first-year-saplings-in-a-cluster-bonsai

Young trees benefit from much more cool shade since the roots are shallow, while more mature tree need direct sunlight but still require the roots to stay cool if kept in a planter pot.

Good luck @cesarj21

Thank you so much for taking the time to give me all that wonderful advice, it really helps me a lot. I read, and I will try to apply all of it in my gardening, for I am but a beginner still. I will try a little bit of the soap, for the fruit flies and the ants.
Winter is approaching, so I might just get the apple seeds to a shady place in the garden, where they might sprout in the cold. You’ll see, next spring I’ll present to you my apple sprouts.
Best wishes to you.