You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Garden Journal #4 : Re-potting, Plant Bartering & Harvesting String Beans

in HiveGarden2 years ago

With the FFJ? We have a lot of ants in the Philippines so there were black ones around it but the lid was closed tight so the ants weren't able to get to it. They were pretty curious though because I spotted some around the plastic jar during the first two weeks. After several weeks or so they disappeared. If it were aerated with paper or cloth cover, it would have been covered by ants now the same way they do with the compost pit.

Not sure if the FFJ is working, some of the leaves had stained the day after they were sprayed and some insects were drawn to the plants. I'll continue to observe and see any changes.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

No, sorry, I meant the snake beans. I always get ants on the flowers and around the stem of the beans, because they're slightly sweet and they seem to like that.

Ah, so that explains why. Oh yes, there are a lot of ants running along the stem all the time. Did they affect the snake beans in any way?

 2 years ago  

Not usually, but occasionally they'll start eating the bean itself. Mostly they're just annoying when harvesting.

Ah, I see. Thanks for the heads up, I just sprayed with turmeric spray hoping to drive them away, and I will continue to observe them.