Imagine growing a lawn with no grass and no mowing

in HiveGarden2 years ago

I love geding old gardening books. Especially ones from the time when suburban gardens still had flowers. The old ideas still works.

It is in one of the old books that came from New Zealand I came across the idea of planting a lawn with out lawn grass. A novel idea to me at the time, it fascinated me. No more mowing the lawn.

Years passed and I finally researched this phenomenon. I came across a list of the top 20 plants that works well for lawns and chose two I thought could work for me.

The first choice is Lawn Camomile, also known as Roman Camomile or Camomile Treneague, or in Latin - Anthemis Nobile Treneague.

Image on Pexels by Pixabay
Link to image above

The picture has the flower of a different Camomile in it. I just couldn't say no to the rabbit. Lawn Camomile is also called Sterile Camomile because it does not flower, it grows from cuttings. It grows easily though.

Lawn Camomile loves full sun and fertile soil. It needs regular watering and grows well in soil that drains well.

It comes from a Mediterranean climate and is frost resistant. It dies back in the winter through so it thins oua lot. You may have bare spots in winter. It would be a good idea not to use it in a monoculture to counter the effect of the thinning.

My other choice is a much more fascinating plant, Creeping Thyme.

creeping-1300062.png

Creeping Thyme, also called Thymus Praecox is a delightful plant that forms a low growing mat, each plant spreading up to a foot across. It's a drought tolerant low maintenance evergreen that can handle light foot traffic and release a sweet perfume when you walk through it.

It's little purple pink flower covers the plant when it flowers. You can imagine a whole purple pink mat in your garden in spring.

Creeping Thyme also loves full sun but it thins a little in the shade. You can plan around this.

Best part that for me is that Creeping time is edible and polinator friendly. The bees will be happy too.

These two plants would work great for me. My experience with both is limited though and I would love to hear your thoughts on this.

Divider enkel lyn.png

Thank you for reading my post.
I appreciate your support.

I live because I know I will die.
Live life to the fullest.