The secrets of the Lemon tree

in HiveGarden9 months ago

1000000146.jpg

Photo by Maria-Theodora Andrikopoulou: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-standing-barefoot-on-tree-trunk-11429297/

Divider enkel lyn.png

When I grew up you could find a lemon tree in almost every garden. In the good old days lemons were used for a lot of household things and a lot of baking and cooking. Obviously the lemon tree caught my attention.

You see, I the lemon tree holds some secrets. Secrets that could make or break your growing experience.

A few years ago I came across a post by a lady who had a lemon tree in the her garden that bore no lemons. She wanted to know why. How could you she fix this. She planted the tree herself fifteen years ago and it never had any fruit.

The first question I asked was, 'did you plant it from seed'. This seems an odd question because all trees can grow from seed. The difference with lemons is that, but when you grow your tree from seed it you have a large possibility that it may not give fruit. You don't know beforehand and will have to wait for you years before you find out.

To solve the problem is once you have strong roots, you graft a bud or small twig from a tree you know has good lemons on to your new tree. Once it takes you cut away the rest.

I am love gardening and I landscaping programs. Once, on a British program I saw that they had their citrus in tubs about two feet deep and roughly five across. At the start of winter they moved the trees indoors. Lemon trees don't really like icy weather.

If the summer sun is scorching, a little bit of shade is also welcome. Even though lemon trees likes direct sun, too much heat is not good.

I grew up with big Oak trees under which nothing grew. I am used to think it's because there are too much shade. Then I have found out that the acid levels in the soil is too high under the Oak trees. For lemon and other Citrus trees this is perfect. They love soil that is a bit more acid.Even if you don't have an Oak tree

These then are the things you have to keep in mind when starting out your Lemon tree.

Divider enkel lyn.png

Thank you for reading my post.
I appreciate your support.

Sort:  
 9 months ago  

i have an ABUNDANCE of lemons - and the limes are just dropping off the tree all at once!

Always when you I hear this my first thought is, what can we bake or make.

Hi @diziette, it is a blessing to have a lemon plant at home, we have one at home, it took us 4 years to start producing just now it looks well flowered. The lemon tree can take a little time to produce.

See you later and may you continue to enjoy this valuable fruit.

@amestyj thank you. Yes I love my lemon trees.

Wow this is an eye opener, I seriously don't know much about lemon tree and had no idea it won't process fruit when seed is planted directly, except this method you stated.

Thanks for sharing this awesome insight.

@vickoly thank you for your comment. Sometimes lemon trees does give fruit when planted from seed but it's an open gamble