Harvesting, Cleaning, And Growing Turmeric Plants - Video Tutorial

in HiveGarden2 years ago

I recorded this tutorial video showing how to harvest, clean and grow Turmeric plants!

Turmeric is a very healthy, nutritious root vegetable that is very easy to grow and is a very popular ingredient in many Asian cuisines. Check out the video tutorial below!

The nice thing about Turmeric is you just plant it and forget about it, until it starts growing in the summer. It likes moist soil so you want to keep it watered if you live in a dry climate.

It is only harvested once per year at the beginning of winter when the leaves of the plant start to die.

As I show in the video you basically just dig up the plant and harvest the roots and save some of the root pieces to plant and regrow. I also save some of the plants if they have a lot of long stringy roots, I just break off the rhizome roots and bury the rest of the plant back into the ground for next year.

When I am done harvesting and cleaning the roots, I bury some of the root pieces back in the ground so a new plant can grow from them next year. The roots and plants will remain dormant for several months until summer time next year when they start growing again.

I repeat this process next winter and this provides us with free Turmeric every year! From about 10 to 12 plants I usually get about 2 to 3 pounds (1 to 1.5 kg) of Turmeric.

Good luck growing your veggies!

Thanks for checking out my post!

I can create gif

youtube logoSpreadshirt logoShutterstock logoTeespring logoTwitter logoFB logo

holy bread banner

Sort:  

You have told very well in the post, by watching this video, even a small child will understand very easily.

hehe, thanks! :)
!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@dksart(1/6) tipped @dw-g5l5r1010505 (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!