Story about my green princess

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Do you know that late winter or early spring is usually the best time to re-pot indoor plants? It is the time when plants sleep or grow very slowly so repotting at this time will reduce damage to roots and plant growth. Today I want to share with you an indoor plant that I really like, very easy to grow, and doesn't take much care. It is called The Philodendron Green Princess, a very beautiful plant with its oval-shaped green leaves. The plant has grown so big and needs to be repotted so I decided to do it now.

2 years ago when we first moved into the apartment complex where I live now, my partner bought me a beautiful indoor plant. I like plants but I always thought that I was incapable of gardening partly because I thought I don't have enough time, and I also was afraid of killing them. Until I took care of this green princess, it really isn't as difficult as I thought it would be.

This is the green princess when she was brought home

My princess after 1.5 years. Despite her royal name, she is far from a drama queen. Infact, she's a very easy care girl with gorgeous, glossy, rich green leaves

Here is one of her small baby

During the past 2 years, I kept water after washing rice or soaking banana peels or even water from boiled egg shells to water the plants. In summer times, I know my princess needs more nutrients to grow so I made natural fertilizer from kitchen waste like fruit's skin or vegies, soaked them in sugar water for about three months. I think my plants love the home-made fertilizer I prepared for them. It is also a great feeling as I know I can reduce our kitchen waste and use the good parts for my indoor plants & vegie garden.

You can see my green princess growing too fast. The pot I used last year was too small for it now

Before repotting, I also try to cut the small babies so I can grow them next month

Before transferring the plant, it is essential to give it a lot of water the night before. it will make it easy to remove the plant from the old pot and reduce the damage to its roots. Also, remember not to pull the plant directly out of the pot. Instead, trying to use your garden tool to make space between the pot and the plant gently and all around the pot. After that, it will be easy to take the plant out.

Here you can see it was quite easy for me to remove my plant using the method above

Present to you my green princess in a new pot. It looks a bit big but I am sure my princess will outgrow it next year.

Do you have any plants that you love to grow in your home and it doesn't require lots of maintenance? If you do, please share with me as I would love to grow more plants in my home.

divider.png

Hive viet badge (1).png

Designed with Canva

Sort:  

the green princess plant is very beautiful. Vegetable and fruit waste is very good as organic fertilizer. thank you for sharing. its a very nice plant.

Thank you for your kind words. Yes I love this plant, especially it can survive with so little water and nutrition but still grow big and produce small plants - I have 6 so far. So happy

Your green Princess is beautiful as you are babe 🥰🥰 I can feel how much you enjoy having her in the apartment ❤

Oh you are so sweet my love. Yes I am so grateful to have her. In just 2 years, she gaves me 6 small babies so I grow them in my apartment as well as in the office. Everyone love this plant

They are beautiful 🤩 the plants give a very nice touch to the house and relaxing.

Thank you. I agree it looks so nice in the corner of the room. Whenever I pass by, i have to stop for a moment to admire its beauty.

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @dora381! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 14000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz supports the HiveFest⁷ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners
Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day